New clothes for B & L

10 Feb

I finally got my sewing machine up and running this week. Thankfully school hasn’t gotten to be too busy yet so I was able to get some sewing done for the kids, including a shirt I had cut out and pinned for Lucien but before we moved last spring!

Here’s Lucien’s top, it’s the Charlie Tunic from Made By Rae. I like this pattern (and the dress version) because they’re easy! I also modify it where I don’t put in the buttons. The main fabric in this is wax cloth that my husband bought for me when he last went to Gabon. The coordinating fabric is vintage that I found at a tag sale last summer.

IMG_1204

I wasn’t sure at first how they’d go together, but I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. I’m also pretty happy with Lucien’s crazy toothless grin! (Side note – he lost his tooth last week in the middle of the night, and couldn’t find it! Like it’s somewhere in his room, but we haven’t been able to find it. Maybe he swallowed it, but the night he lost it, he says he dropped it between his bed and the wall, and we woke up to the sound of him pawing at the wall to get it back – freaking out the that tooth fairy might not come. It was crazy!)

Anyway –

For Bea, I made a twirly skirt. I didn’t use a pattern, I just measured her waist, then doubled the measurement – so 22″x2 = 44, then I measured the length and added a couple inches to account for the hem and waistband, it was 14″. I just cut a rectangle from the fabric and sewed up the side, but instead of zig zagging the seams after sewing them, I did French seams instead. It took about 30/45 minutes to make, the longest part was putting the elastic in the waistband.

IMG_1207

First, Bea didn’t really want to pose – she wanted to twirl around…but she picked the fabric, it’s Alexander Henry from Joann’s maybe a year or so ago. I think I might make her some more and add some mini pom poms to the bottom, I think she’d like that.

2 Responses to “New clothes for B & L”

  1. tessfull2 February 21, 2015 at 12:03 #

    I envy anyone who can sew. I still have fabric I bought from the Congo sitting in my closet that I need to do something with. Wish you were closer and we could devise something together!!

    • Chantal February 21, 2015 at 13:52 #

      If we were closer that would be really fun!

      And in the interest of full disclosure, I learned to sew from books and youtube videos.

Leave a Reply

