Mani of the week part 2, electric boogaloo

23 Apr

I kept seeing all these matte nail polish pictures on Instagram and Pinterest – I needed to jump on that bandwagon. I couldn’t find any matte topcoat in Scranton, so we drove down to the Ulta store in Wilkes-Barre (like a half hour away).

Let me say first, I loved the Ulta store!! I was dying. I ended up with a new base coat, and the matte top coat – and they were running a deal where if you bought $20 of their brand cosmetics, you got a make up bag full of stuff along with an eyeshadow and eyeliner free – since the base coat was their brand, I just picked up a couple eyeshadows and yay! I got the deal! I can’t resist what I call “little kits.” And I also picked up some hair flowers and bows for me Bea.

Anyway…because I’m a baby, I couldn’t wait and just redid my nails as soon as the kids went to bed…

For this mani I used a lot of nail junk. There’s the Ulta base coat, two coats of China Glaze Rainbow, a thin coat of Julep Camille (a glitter), and finally two coats of Julep Candy (a light purple glaze). I covered all of that with two coats of the matte polish, mine is from Opi.

I’m certain it will all chip off really quickly, as that’s what usually happens to me but until it does, I really love the matte polish!

20130423-091344.jpg

2 Responses to “Mani of the week part 2, electric boogaloo”

  1. deb jacobs April 23, 2013 at 14:49 #

    i was just thinking about that myself the other day, when i noticed the matte polish on pinterest. i like shiny so much that i don’t know…but i might have to try it. your store sounds so fun! and i love how your nails are lavender. sooooooo pretty!!

    • Chantal April 23, 2013 at 15:26 #

      I got sucked in by all the great Instagram and Pinterest photos – and I keep finding myself thinking of what other colors to try with it. I love it with the glitter as some of it stayed shiny but most went matte.

Leave a Reply

