What’s cooking?

30 Jan

20130130-144438.jpg

I’ve been trying to think of ways to get my kids to eat more veggies – and by kids, I should clarify that I really just mean Bea. So, I brought the smoothie back to my house. We’ve been having one each afternoon for their snack – it’s sweet and fruity, so she and Lucien have no clue there’s spinach in them!

My basic recipe is to take about a cup or so of frozen fruit, add a handful of spinach, some soy yogurt (or regular depending on what we’ve got), and a bit some soy milk. Sometimes I add peanut butter or cocoa powder for the babies.

Our favorite, so far, has been frozen cherries with yogurt, soy milk, spinach and a tbsp of cocoa powder. It was so good. I think it would’ve been good with a bit of coffee added, but that would’ve been more for me and not them.

Do you make smoothies? Do you have a recipe to share?

2 Responses to “What’s cooking?”

  1. deb jacobs January 31, 2013 at 03:09 #

    i have to try a green one. although i have had the v8 where it’s fruit and veggies and i really liked it. if you use fresh fruit, just use ice, right?

    • Chantal January 31, 2013 at 09:40 #

      That sounds good – I’d use just ice or maybe a splash of juice that went with one of the fruits.

Leave a Reply

