WIP: On the right track

17 Jan

I had an idea the other day for a little soft doll with a pocket and in her pocket, she’d have a little peg doll. I sat on this idea for a few days, trying to work out how I would go about making the doll – I’m not so good at making soft dolls from scratch, well, it’s their faces that give me trouble. I checked some old craft books I had for some ideas of how to do the faces/hair and how to attach the arms with buttons.

I then sketched out a head and body and I like what I came up with, but not the arms. I made them too big and I’m not sure I like the attach with a button technique. Here’s what she looked like:

20130115-120136.jpg

Bea grabbed her right away. She named her “Girl.” And has been playing with her non-stop:

20130115-120245.jpg

I have a couple ideas of how to fix the doll. I just hope the babies give me a chance to work on it.

2 Responses to “WIP: On the right track”

  1. deb jacobs January 18, 2013 at 03:34 #

    i think she looks great as is. i also like dolls that are a bit wonky because they are unique and different. it ‘s great!

Leave a Reply

