WIP: embroidery project

7 Dec

As I’ve mentioned, I can’t just work on one project at a time…

I got a thought of making embroideries of photographs of places I’ve been. So I printed a fairly simple, yet graphic photo of a sign I took when I went to Berlin (as an aside – Berlin is the best city ever!!).

After printing out the picture, i decided to cut out everything in the background and only embroider the sign. Here’s how it turned out:

20121207-122950.jpg

It still needs to be ironed. I like to wait until I have more than one to iron at a time – that’s a hint to keep reading as there’s a peek at what I’m working on now further down.

Anyway, here’s the original picture, so you can compare:

IMG_1310

I’m pretty happy with how it came out. I’m excited to see it ironed and framed.

And as promised, here’s the WIP:

20121207-123611.jpg

It’s from another series of embroideries I started based on who I consider to be icons of the 60s & 70s. You’ll have to wait for the big reveal for me to tell you who it is, but as a hint – I changed her hair color as I didn’t have the right color so I went to complete opposite.

What are you working on? Or are you bogged down with holiday crafting?

One Response to “WIP: embroidery project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy New year embroidery project in Hindi | PES.Year33.com - December 17, 2012

    […] New Year!Guest Post – Alternative New Years Eve Celebration Traditions from Around The WorldWIP: embroidery project .recentcomments a{display:inline !important;padding:0 !important;margin:0 […]

Leave a Reply

