Kid Craft: calming glitter jars

13 Sep

The other day on the pinterest I saw a pin for a calm jar. I followed the link to the untrained housewife blog and thought it might be something the babies might enjoy making.

It’s really simple. If you follow the link above, you’ll get the directions. The babies had a blast pouring the glitter into the mason jars. I was just happy there was no glitter bomb in my kitchen. (I know I’ve related this before but once Hartley ate an entire container of glitter and pooped an amethyst. I didn’t want my kids to do the same).

Anyway…

Here’s how ours turned out:

20120913-142657.jpg

20120913-142704.jpg

20120913-142712.jpg

20120913-142718.jpg

They keep wanting to play with them, which is great – except these jars are a bit heavy for them. Since they asked if we could make more for their Granny, I’m going to use smaller jars, like the kind for jam and that might make it easier for them to manipulate. Also, in one of the jars, I used 2 containers of glitter glue and it swirls the best, I think.

Their love of this activity made us go out a get a kids craft book. Talk about hard to pick – the ones we thought looked the coolest were also the ones that seemed a bit complicated for them.

What crafts do your kids like?

One Response to “Kid Craft: calming glitter jars”

  1. Local Flower September 20, 2012 at 10:15 #

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

