Jam!

28 Aug

20120827-140421.jpg

I finally got around to making jam this season. I kind of made up this recipe. I read the peaches and strawberries can be swapped out of jam recipes in equal amounts, so I just used up what I had in the fridge – a few pineapple-donut peaches and some on the verge of going bad strawberries. I chopped them up and cooked them until the peaches started getting soft, then I added 4 cups of sugar and some lemon juice. I stirred and stirred and stirred until the sugar melted and it was nice and boiling. I added the pectin. And boiled hard for a minute. It started gelling so I canned it up. I processed it for 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.

20120827-140837.jpg

Well, it is extremely tasty – mostly because of the pineapple-donut peaches (those are amazing!!). But when I checked them this morning, only one can had fully gelled. Ugh. No big deal though, I just made room for the cans in my fridge and we will be mixing them into oatmeal for the babies for breakfast. They’ll love it. Personally I think it would be better over ice cream…

5 Responses to “Jam!”

  1. deb jacobs August 28, 2012 at 16:47 #

    mmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. silver price September 3, 2012 at 12:08 #

    We keep all of our grains and various bulk goods in see-through bags in a large bin and yes, my addled mind mistook bulgur for a nice coarse-grained brown sugar. It was only after about 10 minutes of sauting, with no hint of the “sugar” melting and caramelizing that I caught on to the fact that something might be wrong. Looking wretchedly at the skillet upon what looked like a pile of tofu absolutely caked and coated with sugar, bemoaning what seemed to be shaping up as a particularly unfortunate meal, I finally tasted a chunk of the tofu. Surprisingly unsweet, yet with a distinctive crunchy chew. A quick look in the gain bin confirmed that I had, in fact, substituted bulgur for sugar.

  3. Cathy September 15, 2012 at 09:05 #

    Hi Chantal!

    I received your jams this week. The Pineapple Peach Strawberry Jam sounds really good, I didn’t realize that peaches and strawberries could be swapped out in equal amounts. That’s good to know. Thanks for the jams! I can’t wait to try them.

    Happy Canning!
    Cathy

    • Chantal September 15, 2012 at 09:09 #

      I can’t remember where I read that, but it made for a tasty jam – those pineapple-peaches are the best thing.

      Your jams are gone. Once my husband and kids found them – I had no chance of saving them! But they were really, really good. I could eat the peach-orange marmalade everyday and not get sick of it.

  4. silver account September 16, 2012 at 05:08 #

    While the dough sets, start your filling. Slice the peaches (about 1/2 inch in thickness) into a large bowl. Add blueberries. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, spices, sugar, and cornstarch. Pour over the fruit and gently fold it in using a rubber spatula. Add lemon juice and zest and give it one more toss. Set aside.

Leave a Reply

