WIP: printed tea towel

27 Aug

I fell asleep last night with a crafty idea. I was too tired to write it down and I hoped I wouldn’t forget it by morning. I didn’t, amazingly. So, after J left for the gym with the babies – I skipped out so I could work on my idea. I felt like if it worked out, it was going to be that good.

Turns out, I actually do think it’s almost that good. I printed these with acrylic paints because they dry fast and that’s what I had on hand. I seem to recall from a printmaking class that once acrylic paint has dried and has been ironed/set that it’s permanent. I’ll have to verify that with my art teacher friends, or google.

Anyway, here are some pictures of my lino-cut hand printed tea towels. I think this would be really cute as an all over print on a tea towel – maybe ombré.

20120827-140118.jpg

20120827-140138.jpg

After J comes home tonight, I’m going to try to make a print on a whole tea towel of the print. I’m pretty excited about this project.

2 Responses to “WIP: printed tea towel”

  1. deb jacobs August 27, 2012 at 15:57 #

    i’ve never used acrylic paint on fabric, so i don’t kbow about that rule. it’s true of silkscreening tho. great idea! did you cut the lino too? i’ve carved stamps but i have never cut lino. is it hard?

    • Chantal August 27, 2012 at 16:01 #

      I did cut it. It didn’t take much time because this was a fairly simple design, but it’s not that hard in general. The only issue is watching your fingers as sometimes the cutting tools slips and it’s really sharp. I had a prof in a printmaking class make all of us a kind of holder for our blocks that we would cut, so we wouldn’t put our fingers/hands in front of the cutting tool – that helped a lot today!

Leave a Reply

