Birthday wrap up

5 Aug

I thought I’d share some pictures of our day yesterday. Bea had been talking up her birthday for months, so we wanted to make the day special.

We let her pick out her outfit – which I do anyway, but this time she was allowed to wear a dress that Granny got her for Easter that she hadn’t worn yet. She was very excited.

20120805-101857.jpg

We gave her some gifts, that you know, she didn’t want to share with her brother. But was willing to show my camera.

20120805-102008.jpg

We took the babies to the new farmer’s market. It was our second time going and we really don’t like it – they have less stuff than our usual one and the prices are way higher. But they have local wine and pump the 90s tunes…but at one booth a hippie farmer gave Bea an eggplant. Bea was super excited, not because she likes eggplant but because she loves purple.

20120805-102358.jpg

20120805-102406.jpg

They fought over that eggplant until Lucien took a huge bite out of it. When it was raw. Gross. I took it away and the fighting was over.

We took Bea out to her favorite for lunch – Mexican. She got some birthday guacamole and horchata. Both babies were excited because the place was playing Olympic soccer and they loved when there was a goal and the announcer yelled gooooaaaallll!!! They would laugh so hard that the other people around us laughed.

After lunch we had birthday cupcakes. I made them. I used the Babycakes vanilla cupcake recipe and made up one for the frosting (crisco, powdered sugar and mashed blueberries). Bea was excited as she wanted a bluebaby cupcake.

20120805-102959.jpg

As a side note about the cupcake, I should point out that pre-no gluten I had finally perfected a cupcake recipe. I’m not baker but I harbor a (not secret anymore) dream of owning a cupcake shop. So, this no gluten business is making retool a lot of my favorite recipes. But anyway, this one from Babycakes is pretty good. It’s dense but tasty.

Anyway, that was our bday day with Bea. She had a blast, I think. And I think we did a good job of trying to make Lucien not be jealous – but that was hard as you know, they’re 3 and they don’t get that birthdays come once a year.

4 Responses to “Birthday wrap up”

  1. deb jacobs August 5, 2012 at 20:52 #

    awww, that bea xxx sounds like a wonderful day !!

    • Chantal August 5, 2012 at 21:21 #

      I think she had a pretty good day. I hope.

  2. pinkpeppercorns August 7, 2012 at 08:07 #

    What a cute dress.

    • Chantal August 7, 2012 at 08:09 #

      She loves that dress! Jeremy’s mom bought it for her, for easter but it was too big. She’s been asking to wear it everyday since Easter. I suspect you might see it in a lot of pictures as she wore in on both Saturday and Sunday and wanted to wear it Monday.

Leave a Reply

