Happy birthday, little peanut

4 Aug

It’s Bea’s birthday today. She’s turning three. I thought for this post I’d tell you a bit more about her.

You’ve seen this picture before but I love it so I’m using it again:

20120803-232225.jpg

Bea is the screaming one. She was probably 6 months or so in this picture. It’s from before she and Lucien came home. The very first thing I said to J when I saw this picture was that I appreciated her commitment to screaming. She’s still like that – she stays committed to whatever she’s decided on. Sometimes that’s good, sometimes it isn’t good at all – like when we want her to do something she doesn’t want to do. Bea is a very tough little firecracker, it’s part of her charm.

A little side note about this picture, Lucien and I were looking at pictures from Congo the other day and when we got to this one, he remembered the names of the little girls in the picture. I was impressed that he remembered something from when he was a year old.

back to Bea

When Bea came home she was 10 months old and weighed about 16 pounds. She quickly gained weight with a proper diet but to me she’s still teeny.

20120803-232741.jpg

20120803-232819.jpg

Bea loves the camera. She also loves her three babies – Pink, Pink, and Yellow, named for their outfits. Sometimes she has a falling out with one of the babies and won’t sleep with them for a few days – the babies and Bea have active lives.

(in the top picture, my friend Carolyn made the headband, click here for her etsy. And in the second picture, I made that dress. It’s actually the lining side to the polka dotted dress below, Bea prefers the red & white side.)

20120803-233148.jpg

20120803-233156.jpg

Bea likes junky foods, but still eats fruits and veggies like a champ. She loves berries – she called blueberries “bluebabies.” Bea loves having her hair done and will sit for as long as it takes for me to do it without complaining – which is impressive. She has recently discovered a love of the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, I’m a little embarrassed for her that her favorite seems to be Goofy.

Another new thing for Bea is the pool. She loves the pool at our local Y. She and Lucien call it the “play pool.” We go almost every day and she has so much fun every time. The other night a lifeguard that we don’t normally see stopped to tell me that the babies were so cute and that she loved watching them play. She also said that when they laughed it was so cute she was laughing with them. It made my night.

Every morning when I wake up, she loves telling me what she had for breakfast. One morning she told me that she ate waffles under the table with the cat. Another time she told me that her bed flew her out the window to visit animals. She also keeps wanting to have a tea party with our cat, who keeps declining Bea’s invitations (so rude!). I love her little stories. She also tells me about what she does at the gym day care. It usually involves going potty, having a tea party, choo choo trains and animals…I don’t know how it all fits but she’s happy to talk about it.

Anyway…

Happy Birthday tiny peanut!

6 Responses to “Happy birthday, little peanut”

  1. Llyra August 4, 2012 at 13:02 #

    Wow, THREE! Happy birthday, little Bea!

    • Chantal August 4, 2012 at 17:44 #

      Three. It has really flown by – just saying that phrase makes me an old lady. Ha.

  2. deb jacobs August 4, 2012 at 17:15 #

    happy birthday, bea! she reminds me of my daughter some, when she was little. sasha had invisible friends, called “the boys”. she said the boys played jumprope under the table. she used to walk around with both arms out and hands in a grip, as she was holding the boys’ hands. once she “left them in a store”. i drove back for her to get them xx great memories. bea is making so many good ones!!!xx

    • Chantal August 4, 2012 at 17:47 #

      Bea doesn’t have imaginary friends, yet. I wouldn’t be surprised if she had some soon. She does have a new little mouse we got her she name “girl” and another named “mouse.” I’m kind of into her literal naming of her toys, it’s kind of funny and makes us laugh.

      And you’re way nice, driving back to the store for your daughter’s friends.

  3. pinkpeppercorns August 5, 2012 at 09:48 #

    Great post. Very impressive to be able to commit to things at such an early age. May it continue. 🙂 I like that her favorite character is Goofy. Goofy would be mine, too. Thanks for the plug. I can’t wait for the day I actually have stuff that might sell. That is such a good photo for my marketing purposes. 🙂

    I went up to Faces yesterday. My goodness! I need to stay OUT of that store. But they had some fun nail polishes and I thought of you and DD. DD is big on nails (and hair), too. Shhh, don’t tell her, but I got her some very bright candy-scented ones for her birthday.

    • Chantal August 5, 2012 at 10:15 #

      Faces is dangerous! I try to stay out of there when I’m in your town, too! I can never leave that store empty handed!

      The thing that impresses me most about Bea’s commitment to things is her age. Our pediatrician in TN told us that she might be a few months younger than the birthdate the courts gave her. If that’s the case, she’s scary smart. J and I treat them both like they’re the same age, because for us 4 months (or more) isn’t a big deal – we forget that at their age a couple months age difference is a big deal. But, she keeps up and figures a lot of things out way faster than Lucien. I think she will be very smart in school, if she commits to doing well.

Leave a Reply

