Recipe: gluten free béchamel sauce

3 Aug

I think I mentioned a few months back that my doctor and I discovered that I had a gluten intolerance. It hasn’t been that challenging trying to figure out what to eat. I found that I really like the Udi’s brand bread.

However, there have been some things that I’ve been wanting but couldn’t have because of the gluten/wheat in them. One thing has been homemade mac & cheese. I had finally perfected a béchamel sauce before not being able to eat gluten. I wasn’t sure how to go about making it gluten free, until I had a duh moment this morning – just sub out the regular flour for a gluten free kind. Duh. So obvious, isn’t it?

So here’s how I did it, there’s even a secret ingredient. This maybe makes enough for two people.

Ingredients:
– 1 tbsp soy flour (I’m guessing other kinds would work too, but this was the first container I grabbed)
– 1-2 tbsp butter/margarine
– 1/2 cup cooked lentils (the secret ingredient! I had some in the fridge and threw them in)
– 1/2 – 1 cup milk (I used soy milk and about a half cup)
– 1/2 – 1 cup shredded cheese (I used cheddar)

Directions:

On medium heat, add the flour and butter. Mix together until well incorporated. Then add the lentils and mix until well mixed. Then stir in the milk. Once it is all bubbly, lower the heat to low and add the cheese. Stir until the cheese it all melted.

Once the cheese was all melted, I added in the pasta and mixed it all up. I also added a bit of black pepper. At this point you could put it in a dish a bake it but I just gave it to the babies like this and they loved it.

20120803-103700.jpg

2 Responses to “Recipe: gluten free béchamel sauce”

  1. deb jacobs August 3, 2012 at 22:54 #

    oh, yum!! i will try this with either almond milk, coconut or rice milk. and oat flour.

    • Chantal August 3, 2012 at 23:12 #

      I actually made it again tonight, for me & jeremy this time. I was out of lentils and threw in leftover tofu scramble and it was super good. Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

