Manicure of the week

23 Jul

I figured out, after calling my friend google, that nail polish and pools/chlorine are not friends at all, unfortunately. We’ve been taking the babies swimming almost every night for an hour to an hour & a half – they freak out and cry when it’s time to leave, much like I did when I was little. I’ve also taken to doing laps during the day, without them…so…

I decided to try layering a few different polishes along with 2 layers of the magical Seche Vite. I used Sally Hansen the Real Teal for the base color and layered a few coats of Sally Hansen Bejeweled on top. As an aside, Bea picked the same glitter for her mani today.

20120722-132643.jpg

20120722-132649.jpg

My husband gives it three days before it starts chipping from all the chlorine. I think that’s being generous.

Oh, and to get all that glitter off my nails – I saw this Target up and up brand nail polish remover recommended on a blog (but can’t remember which one!). It works really, really well. It isn’t so good for the hands, or nails, as it’s acetone so I only use it for glitter removal. Afterwards I make sure to wash my hands and moisturize, and I let my nails air out a bit before I put more polish on them.

Do you have any tips for keeping nails looking good in the pool?

4 Responses to “Manicure of the week”

  1. deb jacobs July 23, 2012 at 12:36 #

    i don’t! and i use a pool, and never made the connection…

    • Chantal July 23, 2012 at 12:40 #

      I only thought of it because I remembered that when J was gone for those two weeks at the beginning of summer, my nails kept chipping and breaking – I assumed it was because of all the wetness from the baby wipes.

  2. pinkpeppercorns August 3, 2012 at 16:34 #

    Guess I should have kept reading before asking if there was too much chlorine in the pool. 🙂

    • Chantal August 3, 2012 at 16:36 #

      I think it varies, actually. The other day all four of us felt our eyes burning after swimming but usually it isn’t like that.

Leave a Reply

