Cupcake crayons

30 Jun

We have a problem at my house where the babies love to color. That’s not the problem. The problem is that Miss Josephine, one of our dogs, and Lucien both enjoy eating crayons. Not to get all TMI about it but they’ve both literally pooped crayons (remind me to tell you about the time my other dog, Hartley, ate a bunch of glitter and pooped an amethyst…).

Anyway, I took all the crayons away – well, all two that weren’t eaten. But, my mom brought them an easel when she visited and they kept begging for crayons and coloring. There had to be some sort of happy compromise.

I think I came up with it, with the crayon cupcakes! I bought a new cheapie pack with my 40% off craft store coupon and the hunted around my living room for more odds and ends – I found two more. Then I broke them all up and put them in silicone cupcake liners I already had but never used (I didn’t like them for baking, but loved them for bento boxed lunches when I worked). Then I microwaved it all, on a plate, for about a minute and a half. Keep an eye on it. I used a toothpick to stir when it was melted. Then I stuck the plate in the fridge for about 10 – 15 minutes. It was still slightly soft when I took it out but it was okay.

Here’s how they looked:

20120627-105129.jpg

I actually made three but Bea was using the third one in a totally not staged at all shot:

20120627-105222.jpg

Leave a Reply

