(not very exciting) confession

26 Jun

So, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned but J takes the babies to the gym every day. There’s a daycare so it gives me a slight hour break and he gets to work out alone – win-win. He usually works out first thing in the morning, which means if I want the alone time I need to wake up. I usually take the time to shower, or have my breakfast slowly without two pigeon-like children trying to eat it.

Lately though, I’m slightly, but not really, embarrassed to admit that I’ve been getting sucked into Miami Vice reruns. I literally never watched it when it was first on.

I’m getting excited every morning when there’s another cheesy guest star. That show is guest star central! My favorites so far, have been Leonard Cohen (really!!), Miguel Pinero (who also wrote some episodes), an unknown Luis Guzman, Richard Jenkins, the guy from the Shield, El Debarge…watching Miami Vice I’m always thinking, “that guy!” I’m also impressed that for a cheesy cop show there’s a wide variety of ethinicities. And unlike a lot of cop shows now, just because someone wasn’t white, it didn’t automatically make them the bad guy. That’s kind of impressive.

What’s your guilty pleasure tv show?

7 Responses to “(not very exciting) confession”

  1. deb jacobs June 26, 2012 at 23:35 #

    oh god, wife swap. its horrifying, i know. but it sucks me in. i would love to watch miami vice! i never watched it either. also love boat had lots of guest stars every week, right?

    • Chantal June 26, 2012 at 23:39 #

      I got sucked into Wife Swap for a bit, my mom and I would call each other and shit talk the families while watching it together…

      I used to love Love Boat! And Fantasy Island – especially the scarier episodes.

      • deb jacobs June 26, 2012 at 23:51 #

        my first boyfriend’s dad wrote the theme to “fantasy island” and many others, along with the american bandstand theme.

      • Chantal June 26, 2012 at 23:55 #

        That’s awesome!

      • deb jacobs June 26, 2012 at 23:57 #

        i know! i was much more excited about it later as an adult. it seems i wasn’t so much at the time(14). his name was charles albertine. i dated his son, bruce. he also was connected to the monkee show. i guess living in ca, you (me) aren’t as star struck.

      • Chantal June 27, 2012 at 00:01 #

        Oddly, when you first mentioned it I wondered if growing up it California meant you wouldn’t be as star struck!

        We have a minor celeb in J’s family and it’s weird seeing peoples’ reactions when they know who he is and are fans, because I just think of him as my brother in law.

      • deb jacobs June 27, 2012 at 00:08 #

        inquiring minds want to know.

Leave a Reply

