Hair

13 May

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before but one of the steepest learning curves since bringing home our children has been learning all about their hair. See, I have stick straight hair that has absolutely no curl in it at all – very different from Bea and Lucien’s hair.

First it was trying to find the right moisturizer for their hair. We tried a brand that most other adoptive moms loved (and that’s really expensive) and we thought it was okay but I hated the smell (it was licorice like). Random African American ladies of a certain age love stopping me when Bea is rocking an afro to let me know what I’m doing wrong and that I need to buy the stuff in the pink bottle at cvs (we bought it and hated it, and I thought it smelled it black pepper which freaked me out), I tried random other ones that we also didn’t like for either scent or how they weren’t so good. Then a friend recommended Carol’s Daughter. It was kind of pricey but smelled nice and worked really well – but we found a brand that we really love – Oyin Handmade!! I can’t recommend them enough. And even though I sometimes think the scent is a tend strong, it’s honey/vanilla ish so I can’t really complain that my kids’ hair smells like cookies. Oh, we use the burnt sugar pomade, the hair dew, and the whipped pudding (I actually use the whipped pudding on their bodies sometimes, too).

Anyway…I also needed to learn some styles. I read a bunch of blogs and watched a ton of YouTube videos to learn about styling Bea’s hair. I already knew how to braid, and French braid, learning to cornrow wasn’t that difficult. I’ll admit, I usually keep Bea in an afro or with two puffs, but now that she’s older I want to try new more elaborate styles – so I started braiding and beading her hair yesterday:

20120513-130420.jpg

She let me do it because she liked picking out how many and which colors of beads went on each braid. I had to cut her off each time, because if it had been up to her, her head would have been one giant bead.

20120513-130628.jpg

I’m glad that her foster family did her hair on Congo, or at least I’m guessing they did because she’s really good at sitting still for a long time while I do it. I’m also happy she lets me do it and doesn’t howl when she sees a comb like some other kids I know (I’m lookin over at you, Lucien!).

I didn’t finish it last night because she was getting tired so I put the loose part of her hair into two puffs and I think it’s kind of cute. I think I’m definitely going to use the beads more often. (side note: when I was little, I was so jealous of little girls with beads in their hair! And Bea doesn’t know but the beads in her hair glow in the dark!!).

20120513-131047.jpg

Oh, and happy mothers day!

6 Responses to “Hair”

  1. deb jacobs May 13, 2012 at 13:16 #

    it looks just beautiful! xx

    • Chantal May 13, 2012 at 13:29 #

      Thanks, Deb! I’m really pleased with it so far – I just hope it lasts for a bit or that I don’t have to take it out for her ear tube surgery on Wednesday…That’s actually why I’m holding off on finishing until I call the hospital tomorrow for registration.

      • deb jacobs May 13, 2012 at 13:30 #

        good luck with that, chantal! she is in my thoughts xx

      • Chantal May 13, 2012 at 13:46 #

        Thanks. I’m not worried right now, but I’m sure I will be the day of. She’s had them before, so it’s slightly less worrisome – and we like this doctor way more than the last one (I don’t know if you remember but the last one is the one that scared her so I flipped out on him and J had to bring B for her appointments after that).

      • deb jacobs May 13, 2012 at 13:48 #

        yes i remember! it’s always nerve wracking. i know you will be glad when it’s over!

      • Chantal May 13, 2012 at 13:57 #

        I totally will be. And at least the recovery time is fairly quick.

Leave a Reply

