Adventures in baking, part one: macarons

8 May

I have been wanting to try to make macarons for years. I tend to be that way, I’ll talk about it for a long time before actually doing it. I don’t know why, it’s like I need to talk myself into it sometimes.

Anyway, for Valentines Day this year my husband bought me some baking stuff – a new pan, some sprinkles, powdered sugar, and a Les Petits Macarons, a book on macarons. I’ve been dying to make them since then, pawing through the book nightly.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago when I went to the doctor, and was told not to eat gluten anymore. I blogged about it on my other blog, here. J and I thought this would be the perfect time to make macarons – they’re gluten free!

I chose to make the basic French recipe. I added a bit of almond extract and I also added some yellow and red food coloring to make it orangey – because Lucien was helping and that’s what he wanted.

For the middle part, I made a buttercream and added in some raspberry jam. It’s so good, as is with no cookie…not that I eat frosting straight from the bowl or anything…

20120508-202735.jpg

They came out pretty good. I’d never actually eaten a macaron before, their allure is just the color and fillings – although as a side note I’ve been to France twice and never had any pastries either time, mostly because I was too busy having cheese plates…

The babies liked these so much they created a diversion so that they could run into the kitchen and help themselves to some while we were in the living room cleaning a mess up. They got two each…I’m choosing to take it as a compliment.

Im planning on trying to make these again, probably when it’s a bit less rainy out. I think the humidity affects how they turn out. I want to get these down and then try to veganize them…I’ve got some work ahead of me I guess. Then I’ll have to start working on some of my favorites to turn them gluten free…

Leave a Reply

