Muffin tin lunch

12 Mar

I heard over the weekend about muffin ton lunches for toddlers. I thought it was a cute, bento box-like idea, and we all know I love bento boxes…so, I thought I’d try this for my toddlers. I checked out the muffin tin blog for some ideas. Here’s what I came up with:

20120312-110105.jpg

I didn’t have an actual muffin tin, so I used these divided lunch containers – the ones I bought to make J’s lunch when I didn’t know he was eating on campus (side note: his cafe is like $3 and is an Aramark tester kitchen so the foods always amazing).

So, back to my kids’ lunch. The bigger part has mac & cheese (with added veggies). One of the smaller containers had strawberries and grapes, the other had some yogurt pineapples, a few pretzel pieces and a tiny amount of mixed nuts.

The verdict is that perhaps the babies shouldn’t have fun stuff on their plates. Lucien ate it all and loved it, as seen in the photo:

20120312-111144.jpg

Bea on the other hand, only ate the sweet stuff and wouldn’t touch the mac & cheese. In fact, she hoarded a few bites in her mouth for a very long time. (side note #2: she used to hoard food in her mouth all the time! when she first got home. Yes, at 10 months she did that…). Maybe she knew about the hidden veggies?

20120312-112047.jpg

I’m thinking of trying again tomorrow but with a sandwich and just fruit in the other compartments. I’ll let you know how that goes.

4 Responses to “Muffin tin lunch”

  1. JDaniel4's Mom March 12, 2012 at 15:13 #

    I love the divided containers. My guy goes in and out of liking foods too.

    • Chantal March 13, 2012 at 08:15 #

      It is still frustrating, but yeah, she could be sick of it.

  2. sharla March 12, 2012 at 22:51 #

    Looks like they really enjoyed them (even if the mac and cheese wasn’t a hit with everyone)!

    • Chantal March 13, 2012 at 08:13 #

      I think for Bea, there were too many choices. And with her, she’ll always pick the sweetest options. It’s okay. But yeah, Lucien loved it.

Leave a Reply

