Orange soda cupcakes

5 Feb

I saw on quite a few blogs that you could mix a box of cake mix with a can of soda and make a cake. I figured it would be the perfect recipe to try with the Babycakes cupcake maker that J got me for Christmas.

Yes, J got me a Babycakes. When I first heard about them I thought they were silly, but then the more I thought about what I could make with them…the more I needed one. I’ve actually made a bunch of things with it – quiche, mini pies, lots of cupcakes, mini pancakes, muffins…

Anyway…

20120205-193955.jpg

I mixed a can of orange soda with a box of funfetti cake mix. I then plugged in the Babycakes and waited for it to warm up. It took about 5 minutes we batch and I made a bunch. The result was a whole bunch of moist and very yummy mini cupcakes.

20120205-194144.jpg

In a couple of them, I used another trick I found on the internets – cook the cupcakes for a few minutes and then drop in a Hershey kiss. I only did it with a couple of them in case it didn’t turn out good. I should’ve done it with all of them, next time…

4 Responses to “Orange soda cupcakes”

  1. deva @ cottageid.com February 5, 2012 at 20:57 #

    You are freaking me out! 😉

    • Chantal February 5, 2012 at 21:19 #

      Is it the Babycakes or the use of a can of soda in cooking? 🙂

  2. Elizabeth February 23, 2012 at 19:25 #

    oh yum, sounds amazing!!

    • Chantal February 23, 2012 at 21:19 #

      They were surprisingly better than I thought they’d be – and easy!

Leave a Reply

