Nailed it

5 Jan

20120105-102621.jpg

One of my vainer new years resolution/goals is that I want to keep up with doing my nails. I’m not usually one for make up (other than bright red lipstick), but the only way I’ve found to not bite my nails is when there’s polish on them. If I’m going to bother with polish, why not make it cute?

20120105-102903.jpg

I bought a couple more colors, like the grey above. I’ve even read a few nail blogs – I didn’t even know they existed until I googled how to do a French manicure. There really are blogs for everything.

20120105-103047.jpg

Also, as you can see Bea got a bit of nail polish. Normally, I’m not into any sort of make up on toddlers, but she asked for the potty and went in said potty…so I thought painting her nails was a better reward than candy. I think I picked the right treat for her as she keeps looking at her nails and saying, “blue” with a smile.

6 Responses to “Nailed it”

  1. Elizabeth January 5, 2012 at 17:08 #

    Great idea! I have a few of the Sally Hanson colors. They’re smaller bottles so they only cost a couple bucks, but you can still get lots of fresh colors. As a Mama with a long list of things to buy, I can’t bring myself to buy the nicer ones like Essie at $8 on up. Especially when I want to try out lots of colors. 🙂 Some of the crafters I follow are majorly into nails – I see those pics a lot on Instagram. Searching nails there or on Pinterest will get you a lifetime’s supply of ideas. 😉 And I love how much Bea loves hers!

    • Chantal January 6, 2012 at 00:41 #

      Bea literally keeps holding out her hand for us and telling us it’s blue. She will grow up and be dainty, I think.

      I saw some of the ones you’re talking about. I managed to hit a decent sale on some new revlon colors, I think the grey is my favorite. I saw Essie at Target and couldn’t believe the price difference. Thanks for the tip on searching instagram, I’m going to do that right now.

  2. deva @ cottageid.com January 12, 2012 at 08:20 #

    Love Bea’s little fingers! Madhumat loves makeup. I find a streak of eye shimmer easier than nail painting. I’m such a lazy mama.

    • Chantal January 12, 2012 at 09:23 #

      I put lip gloss on Bea, she loves it. I haven’t done eye shadow yet, mostly because she’s 2…but if this is any indication, she will be way girlier than me. 🙂

  3. CraftyEarthMama January 13, 2012 at 19:45 #

    Lovely and I love Beas blue nails 🙂
    I paint my little girls nails sometimes when I’m doing mine. We use elf and it’s formaldehyde free, so I feel better about using it on her hands.

    • Chantal January 14, 2012 at 22:33 #

      Thanks for the tip! I was a bit concerned about the chemicals, she’s not a nail biter (unlike, ahem, me…) but it’s still not good.

Leave a Reply

