Something to think about

21 Dec

I read this article today about corruption in Ethiopian adoptions. I can’t say it was eye opening because my children were adopted internationally from a country known for its corruption, but not known yet for its adoptions – which is good and bad.

When I was reading the article, I was alternately horrified that this sort of thing was happening and also not surprised. I read a lot of adoption blogs and it seems that corruption in the adoption business is a subject that not many adoptive parents are willing to talk about. After reading the article, I think there needs to be conversations about it, but not in that way I’ve been seeing it – where families say that all adoption agencies except the one they used are corrupt. Throwing around that your agency is transparent doesn’t mean that it actually is – especially if you’re going to Congo and don’t speak fluent French or Lingala (you need to know them if you’re going to claim to have any sort of understanding of what’s going on, you cannot rely on the translator).

So where does this leave us? I’m not sure. I’d love to see someone doing research like this article in Congo. I think it would be very difficult though, not only because of the government but also because of the lack of infrastructure in the country. I think there definitely needs to be more oversight as to what’s going on. I also think that there’s shadings going on with probably all of the agencies in Congo – probably not on a scale like in Ethiopia, at least not yet. I don’t know what could be done about it.

Leave a Reply

