An open letter to my cat:

6 Dec

image

Dear Myra Ellen,

I’m so sorry you lost your buddy. I know you don’t understand, but just know that Varouna isn’t in pain any more.

This isn’t a plot against the cats in the house. You’re not next, so don’t feel like you have to sleep with me tonight. But you should know that I do like having you sleep with me. I also very much like that you, for the first time in the nine years we’ve had you, now curl up on my lap every night. You also no longer try to bite me when I pet you – is that also because you think you’re next?

My hope is that this new, friendlier, less feral Myra Ellen stays around for a bit – we like the new you. Keep in mind that the nicer you are, the more kitty treats there are for you.

Oh, and I’m also sorry that when we moved here that you lost your under the kitchen sink apartments. When J and I buy a house, we’ll have to take you apartment hiding spots into consideration when we look at houses.

Love,

Chantal

2 Responses to “An open letter to my cat:”

  1. deva December 6, 2011 at 22:20 #

    now i feel creeped out by your email handle! 😉

    • Chantal December 6, 2011 at 22:22 #

      Oddly, I had been thinking about changing it since miss varouna (the other cat) died. Maybe that isn’t so odd.

Leave a Reply

