You take the good, you take the bad…

24 Nov

image

First the bad:

The original Varouna died yesterday. She was almost 11 and was really, really ill. I brought her to the vet by myself, and held her while it happened. It was one of the most horrible things I’ve ever had to do. I miss her. J has been saying that she was truely “my” cat as she was always laying on or near me, and she followed me everywhere. She was pretty shy and it took her a good 3 years before she would go see J. She most liked sleeping with me under my blanket and purring all night. I’m pretty heart broken about it. When I got back from the vet, Lucien came to meet me at the door and asked “Varouna? Meow meow?” It was both sweet and so sad.

Now the good:

image

Our advance copy of J’s book came in the mail this week. It’s available for pre-order on amazon, so you should all look into it to make it a best seller.

Also good:

image

My mother in law came for Thanksgiving and we all had a really great time. I made all the food, mashed butternut squash, baked mac & cheese, roasted potatoes, and a vegan fake turkey. I also made the cupcakes in the picture, chocolate spiced with garam masala with peanut butter frosting.

2 Responses to “You take the good, you take the bad…”

  1. Elizabeth November 27, 2011 at 21:34 #

    Chantal,

    First of all, I am so sorry about your cat! How sad. I know you will miss cozying with her.
    Second, congratulations to you and your husband on his book!! How exciting!!
    Third, I love to read what you make because it’s so different than what I make. I’ve never even heard to cupcakes with garam masala in them!

    • Chantal November 27, 2011 at 21:56 #

      1. Thank you. I do miss her. And I feel bad for our other cat who must also miss her, she looks sad and is hanging around me – which is weird for her as she doesn’t like anyone usually. It isn’t so bad during that day, because Varouna would hide from the babies…but at night when she used to come out and sit with us is when we notice her being gone more.

      2. We’re very excited about Jer’s book.

      3. I came up with the idea from seeing people add curry or chili to chocolate on cooking shows. I thought it couldn’t hurt to try it. I used a box mix for the test, in case it was awful. Jer and his mom couldn’t tell what it was when they tried it, just that there was a hint of something spicy. We all agreed that the peanut butter frosting worked really well with the spicy cupcake – I winged that recipe, too.

Leave a Reply

