Too many ideas, too little time

24 Oct

image

It seems like lately I’m getting ideas for new crafty projects that I want to work on. I keep either starting them and not quite finishing them, or writing them down so I don’t forget about them. I’ve never had this problem before and I can’t decide if I like this or not. It’s like add, but for craft-related things only.

I love having new projects to try. I don’t love having not enough free time. I seriously had no idea how much free time I was wasting doing nothing before I had kids! People say it, that once you have kids you have no free time…I didn’t believe them. But it’s totally true.

Thankfully, my husband will take the kids to the park or to the gym with him (they have a daycare at his gym) so I can nab a few hours here and there to work on things. Maybe it isn’t the babies, but more that I have a time management problem – which let’s face it, I kind of do. I’m late all the time, and that was true even before I had kids…

Anyway…I’m keeping my little notebook of ideas handy for when I’ve got time to start projects. Now if I could just finish them…

Oh, and the picture is of a pair of house slippers I’m making for a friend of my mom’s, I’m lining the inside with a soft flannel. The outside is a cute printed cordouroy. I’ll post pictures when I finish them. Also, as a freaky side note, did you know that I, jokingly, suggested the names ‘Cordouroy’ and ‘Calico,’ for the babies? J did not approve, not even as a joke. I did, seriously, pitch ‘Purl’ for Bea’s middle name, but he wanted nothing to do with it (her middle names are Grace and Folele, the latter being Lingala for flower).

2 Responses to “Too many ideas, too little time”

  1. Elizabeth October 25, 2011 at 13:41 #

    Bwahahaha!! Your first paragraph describes my entire life. I can’t imagine it being a “new” problem. So interesting. Purl would be hilarious. Non-knitters would think you’d just given Pearl a funky spelling…..

    • Chantal October 25, 2011 at 13:58 #

      I think most crafters have some form of crafty add. There’s just so many crafty things I want to try, but don’t have time – like glass fusing, it looks like fun but is expensive and seems complicated.

      Ha – my husband was insulted I even suggested Purl, which is was promtpted all sorts of other (not serious) crafty names…Patches, Calico, Cordouroy…

Leave a Reply

