Wavy Crazy

23 Oct

image

Recently when I was catching up on my blog reading, I saw an amazing crocheted ripple throw on the blog of a fellow mom adopting from Congo. I thought, I could do that…and forgot about it. Last week, she posted another one – go check Lindsay’s blog and see how lovely her throws are, I’ll wait. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, after seeing this last throw, I decided it was time to dust off my crochet hooks and make one for myself, I mean for the family to share.

I called google to learn how to do the ripple stitch. I found that I liked the pattern given on the Lionbrand website the best. I then dug through what was unpacked from my yarn stash and found 4 skeins of acrylic I’d used to make some scarves a while back. I liked the colors together, and I hope that when I have to go buy more yarn, I can find another color that goes well with these four.

I started the ripple throw the other night. I’ve been working on it for at least an hour each night after the babies go to bed. I tried to work on it when they were awake, yesterday, and Lucien took the ball of yarn I was working from and ran off with it! It reminded me of when I was first learning to knit and crochet, that one time Varouna (the cat) started eating a ball of yarn and was rapidly swallowing the yarn to keep me from using it. (Don’t worry, she was fine. It was kind of gross, but I learned to never leave any yarn out for her – she also once ate all the fringe off of a queen sized throw my mom knitted. I swear, there’s going to be a sweater in her litterbox one day).

I’m pretty excited about this project. I’ll have to put it aside for a bit next week to work on my sole xmas knitting project. I’m almost half done with a cardigan for my mother-in-law. I have no idea if she’ll like it, but it’s coming out pretty nicely.

What are you working on?

4 Responses to “Wavy Crazy”

  1. Lindsay October 23, 2011 at 19:34 #

    Thanks for the shout out! ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you were inspired to try a ripple blanket of your own.

    • Chantal October 24, 2011 at 00:12 #

      Your blankets are much better coordinated. But since it’s my first time, I’m trying not to be too hard on myself.

  2. Elizabeth October 24, 2011 at 13:29 #

    Wow, girl, you’re really cranking out the projects! Go you! I’m working on taking photos, finally getting some vintage craft supplies listed on Etsy, and working on some Tunisian crochet patterns…among regular life. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Chantal October 24, 2011 at 13:33 #

      I’m not really finishing projects lately, though. I used to only have one knitting project at a time…now I’ve got two, the ripple blanket, and sewing house slippers…this is seriously cutting into my circle cutting time! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m excited to check out your vintage etsy stuff and your Tunisian crochet patterns. I found my Tunisian hook, but I’m forcing myself to either finish one of the two knitted cardigans I started or the ripple blanket, before I try Tunisian crochet – that way I’ll have to finish something…

Leave a Reply

