Kid’s Clothes Week: making a dress for Queen B

12 Oct

image

Iim taking a small break from my busy house slipper making to participate in Kids Clothes Week. I’m a bit late in starting because I got the dates mixed up…but…

In the above picture you can see the start of a dress for Bea. I got the idea to make her a Congolese flag dress from seeing one on one of the protesters at the Kabila protest a couple weeks ago. I didn’t want to go and buy fabric just for this, so I got lucky that I had a good blue to match the flag. For the red and gold stripes and the gold star, I’m using some calicos that are red and golden yellow. I have some shiny metallic bias tape, so I might try to work that in.

I’m hoping to finish this tonight after the babies go to bed. I’m pretty excited about it.

2 Responses to “Kid’s Clothes Week: making a dress for Queen B”

  1. Elizabeth October 13, 2011 at 13:57 #

    Sounds super cute! I like the “Queen B”. Since I’m named Elizabeth & am the oldest with 3 younger brothers, my Dad called me the Queen Bee a lot while I was growing up. Still does sometimes because now I have 3 sons. 🙂

    • Chantal October 13, 2011 at 14:17 #

      I can’t take credit for Queen B – my friend Ronn calls her that because she’s the bossy one, and well, it fits. 🙂 So, we call her that now – we alternate between little names for her (peanut, queen b, beasley…)

Leave a Reply

