Protest wrap up

20 Sep

So, I posted a bunch of my pictures and a couple of videos from the protest over on my facebook and flickr pages. I’m going to put my favorites in this post to cut up my thoughts on the protest.

Here’s a link to a video of my husband and Lucien joining in with the anti-Kagame chanting:

http://www.facebook.com/v/10150820262330313

I won’t lie, I was a bit nervous about going to the protest – it was a 5 hour drive to get there, with 2 toddlers. I was afraid that there might be a lot of people and that I would lose my husband and son in the crowd. Turns out that there was maybe 40 or so people there, at most.

Bea, who is normally phobic of new people, had a great time dancing to the beat of the chants. I think she was charming a lot of the people there, but maybe I’m just saying that because I might be slightly biased.

After a few hours, some pro-Kagame counter protesters showed up. They didn’t stay for very long, I think. They were giving out Rwandan flags to random people going by. J and I suspected that they were being paid to be there by the Rwandan government.

Anyway, I’m really glad we went. The protesters we met were really nice, and it felt really good to do something for the babies’ home country. I hope we have the opportunity to do more activism for the Congo with them.

Leave a Reply

