In Circles

13 Sep

image

image

I have a new craftsession – making circles with my die cut machine. I don’t know why I never thought to try running fabric through it before, but wow, I’m loving it.

It wasn’t long before I ended up with 20 or so circles of various sizes…some will be used as appliques for dresses for Bea, but what to do with the others? I asked some friends on facebook and the twitters for advice. One friend suggested a bunch of ideas – quilt, flowers, appliques…another sent me a link to about a million and one yo-yo crafts.

See, I love how yo-yos look but I tend to think mine ‘don’t look like the picture,’ when I make them. But, I tried anyway. As you can see in the second picture, it was a good idea! I even put a bird on it.

And, the bonus about this particular craft is that I can do it while the babies are awake. They’re learning more about colors and shapes while they play with the circles. Oh, maybe sewing different colored circles onto small beanbags for the babies to play with…too many ideas and totally not enough time, which as far as I’m concerned is a good thing.

3 Responses to “In Circles”

  1. Elizabeth September 14, 2011 at 03:49 #

    Put a bird on it. 😀

    You could make a giant dice stuffy for each of them. 🙂

    I’m a little jealous of the cutter!

    • Chantal September 14, 2011 at 08:24 #

      I’m loving all these ideas! I think the babies would love giant dice!

      The cutter thing is this: http://www.quickutz.com/qk2/img/product/epic_large.jpg
      I’ve had it for a couple years and literally cannot believe it took me this long to try running fabric through it! I even went wild and tried felt!

      • Elizabeth September 14, 2011 at 19:06 #

        You are one crazy chiquita! 😉

Leave a Reply

