Busy busy

31 Jul

image

image

image

Not really all that busy.

Unpacking yes.

Exploring Scranton, yes.

But not super busy, yet.

You can see above that I found my fondue plates – all 3 sets. One of my aunts gave them to me years ago. She lives in Quebec and I put them in my suitcase and flew back to Tennessee with them. Yes, they were in checked baggage. Only one broke. I repacked these for storage until we have our own place – after that my life will be one big fondue party.

You can also see in one of the pics above that Miss Josephine has made herself at home. I was refolding fabrics to put away and I guess she had a chill and needed some blankets.

And the most exciting is for last: the jelly in the jars! I wanted to make some jam or jelly because when I was at my mom’s she’d bought 2 pounds of cherries “pour Lucien.” Turns out, she doesn’t eat them at all and she didn’t know how much I love them, and so she bought 2 pounds for my 2 year old son after I’d told her he liked them. Anyway, when we chopped some up, he didn’t like the kind she bought. I had to do something so I made a quick jam – 2 pounds of cherries, the zest & juice of one lemon (I also added some lemon pulp), about 2 cups of sugar and some pectin. It came out like cherry lemonade. Jeremy, the babies and I gobbled it up in our yogurt and oatmeal. It’s also good on a bagel topped with brie.

So, I wanted to make some more. I remembered that Sabjimata had a post a while back about making rose jelly. And in a canning (nerd!) magazine I bought there was an article about making herb or flower jelly. It just so happens that in out new front yard are 2 hibiscus/rose of sharon shrubs. I googled to see if they were edible and I checked with my landlord to make sure there were no pesticides on it and picked a ton of flower buds. Maybe a cup and a half of petals is what I ended up with. I followed the directions in the magazine, but also added some ginger. It tasted good while cooking, so I’m excited to try it once it’s cooled.

Maybe I lied and we are keeping busy.

2 Responses to “Busy busy”

  1. Elizabeth August 3, 2011 at 06:21 #

    Wow – you ARE a jelly nerd! 😉 Sounds yum! My fave line is “after that my life will be one big fondue party” You should embroider that! 🙂

    • Chantal August 3, 2011 at 06:28 #

      I would LOVE to be known as a jelly nerd! I made peach, ginger and vanilla jam last night – and have more planned for the weekend. My nerdiness has no bounds. 🙂

      Also, I think I will embroider my future fondue party phrase. It could be words to live by, everything will be okay because life is a big fondue party…

Leave a Reply

