The Peanut Dilema

14 Jun

image

As I wrote in my last post we took a weekend trip that involved flying with a super long unplanned layover. I don’t know if it’s flying or the trip in general but it has done something to our tiny Peanut, Miss Bea.

See, on the plane she was a “lap infant,” so that meant that J held her during our flights. We also took turns holding her at the airport so she wouldn’t scream. Lucien is more relaxed and okay with strollers and sitting in his own seat on a plane – I think because he isn’t as fearful of new people as Bea is.

Anyway, when we got to my mom’s, it was time for bed and when we put her in the crib Bea freaked out. Not wanting us to stay up any later, my mom took her to sleep with her.

Do you see where this is going?

On Friday night when it was time for bed, we weren’t there. My mom told me later on that about 2 minutes after she put them in their cribs, Bea came sauntering into the living room. At first she thought that maybe she’d forgotten to put her in the crib. She put her back in and it happened again. She went over to get her neighbor, who didn’t believe that my tiny daughter could climb out of her crib. They both put her back in and stood in the door of the bedroom and watched her climb out. She slept on the couch with my mom.

Saturday night, we were at my mother-in-law’s and I’m sure you can guess what happened there. She slept on a futon with J.

We thought that when we got home she’d be okay in her crib. We were wrong. When I put her down Sunday night she immediately started flipping out and trying to climb out of her crib if I so much as turned around. So, I stood in the doorway of her room and watched her climb out. How she did it was actually pretty smart – she went to a corner of the crib, leaned and put all her weight on the left side, then used her right foot to ‘walk’ up the side of the crib until she could hook her leg over and gently drop down. I was kind of impressed even though I was ticked she’d figured it out.

J & I ended up changing her crib into a toddler bed because he was afraid she’d fall and break her neck. Toddler bed didn’t help. I’ve been staying in her room, in a chair at the end of her bed, until she falls asleep. Last night I started reading to her – she made it through two chapters of Gene Baur’s book about the Farm Sanctuary. She’s not only very smart, she’s very stubborn.

So, we aren’t sure what to do. I noticed last night and when I put her down for a nap today, that she is doing things to keep herself awake to make sure I’m still there when she falls asleep – she was trying to prop her eyes open, or pull her hair…not good. Today, I read her some more of Gene’s book and after she fell asleep left the room. But, unlike the other times, she woke up! She had a massive meltdown and I think she fell asleep while leaning up against her bedroom door…yeah, this is all kind of funny, but also kind of annoying. I called google and saw that this is a normal phase. Hopefully one she’ll grow out of soon. 

4 Responses to “The Peanut Dilema”

  1. Elizabeth June 15, 2011 at 07:22 #

    Poor baby. And poor mama! Who knows what babies remember? Maybe all the transition made her nervous? Either way, it will probably go away once she has a routine again. Might take her a bit to settle into the new house, though. Here’s to good sleep!

    • Chantal June 15, 2011 at 07:28 #

      What’s funny is that we said the exact same thing! I don’t mind sitting with her until she falls asleep, it’s only about 10 minutes. But for the last couple days, we’ve been extra quiet in fear that she’ll wake up.

  2. deva June 18, 2011 at 01:08 #

    First, the cuteness. OY! Second, not to sound hokey, but I agree that there probably is some massive separation anxiety issues at play. Only as an adult did I begin to realize what those first 3 months of my life in foster care must have done to my psyche. She will turn out great. But you may be a little more exhausted than the average mom. Hang in thereXO

    • Chantal June 18, 2011 at 01:53 #

      It’s just strange because she never did this before last weekend. Jeremy and I are torn, we want to stay with her but we also want to let her cry it out. Things are slightly better since I wrote this post – I stay with her for 10-15 minutes, either reading or telling her stories, then I go. She sometimes follows me to the door but last night she stayed in bed and cried for 30 seconds or so and fell asleep. I couldn’t believe it.

      But yeah, I think there’s something deeper going on and it’s upseting to everyone because she can’t articulate it yet. I think the plane/airport and being alone at my mom’s scared the shit out of her. I also suspect the move is going to do a number on her too.

Leave a Reply

