Leavin’ on a jet plane

14 Jun

image

We took a trip this weekend to CT and PA. We were originally going to drive, but then decided to fly to CT to drop the babies off at my mom’s so that we could then drive to PA to look at rentals without them. In theory this was a good idea. Our flight was to get into Hartford around 4:30, which wasn’t too early or too late.

That’s not what happened.

Our flight from Nashville was pretty good and uneventful. Lucien sat next to me and was calm and giggly the whole time. Bea sat on J’s lap and was pretty good until the very end. I think the change in air pressure hurt her ears.

We got into DC around 12:45pm.

We didn’t leave until 11:20pm.

Our connecting flight was cancelled. We were rebooked onto a flight that was supposed to leave at 9:15pm. When I went to the counter for our new tickets, the agent sat us all in different rows – I was so mad. I pointed to B & L, who at that point were screaming and said, “if you want to sit that 2 year old boy alone, that’s fine. When he screams for his parents, good luck.”

They fixed the problem and gave me three $10 meal vouchers. Bea didn’t get one because she was a lap child. Cheapos!

The babies fell asleep on that super late flight and slept the whole way to CT – through take off and landing! We didn’t get to my mom’s until 2:30am! The babies, of course, got a second wind when they saw my mom…

The next/same? morning, J & I left at 7:00am to drive to PA. We met up with the chair of his new department and she came with us too look for a place. We looked at a few places – one of which was gutted and we didn’t think it would be ready for July…We ended up renting a duplex built in the 1920s. It’s really cute inside, all hardwood floors and some of the original light fixtures. There’s a nice front porch and a little backyard.

We also drove around and got to see more of the Scranton area. J and I had lunch at his new school – I was excited they had vegan lunch meats and cheeses! Turns out the company that runs the school cafe use that cafe to test out new recipes and products. The department chair said the food’s always good. Interesting. Speaking of food, we also went out to Indian that was really good – then again, I love Indian food so maybe I’d say that anyway.

Well, because we found a place right away, we were able to head back to my mom’s on Friday night. Yay!

Saturday, J watched the babies while my mom & I went to some tag sales with a friend of hers. We bumped into one of my nursery school teachers – small town fun! Later in the day my bff came by and my mom, in a serious tone, asked him if he dyed his hair. He doesn’t. Also, he and my mom talked about chakras and psychics, prompting me to call her “chakra khan” – she didn’t laugh, my friend did.

We slept over at my mother-in-law’s Saturday night. She lives about 10 minutes from the airport. The flight home Sunday was good. No insane delays, thank goodness. We were so happy when we got home. We’re also happy that once we move, we’ll only be a 3 hour drive from our families – so much better than a possible crazy pants flight. Now, if I survive the drive to the new place, all will be good. Yes, I’ll have the babies and the cats (we have 2). My husband will have the dogs. I would say that he has the way easier passengers, but my car has a/c and a working cd player whereas his does not.  

2 Responses to “Leavin’ on a jet plane”

  1. Elizabeth June 15, 2011 at 07:18 #

    Your new place sounds adorable!

    • Chantal June 15, 2011 at 07:21 #

      It’s really cozy. There’s only 3 things I don’t like, but for a year until we start looking to buy, I can deal with them. The three things are: the yard isn’t fenced, there isn’t a bathroom on the main floor (only upstairs and basement), and there’s not a good area for me to set up my sewing machine (my husband suggested I just take over our bedroom).

      I’m planning on posting pictures after we move.

Leave a Reply

