We be jammin’

7 Jun

Strawberry lemon jam. I can see how people become obsessed with canning.

Guess who finally made some jam?

ME!

I found a deal on strawberries and decided to give it a try. It was a million times easier than I thought it would be! Yay! I loosely followed a recipe on the Food in Jars blog. Only, in typical Chanti* fashion, I changed it up.

Here’s how I did it:

I chopped up 2 quarts of strawberries and threw them in a bowl with a cup of sugar and a vanilla bean/seeds. I’ll be honest, I also ate a bunch of strawberries. I love strawberries! Anyway, I covered that with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge overnight.

The next day, I put it all in a pot, with another cup of sugar and heated it to 220 degrees. I also took out the vanilla pods. I stirred it. I watched it. I also, while it was cooking, zested and juiced 2 lemons. After the strawberries reached 220, I added the lemon zest and juice. I let this cook for about 8 minutes. I did the frozen plate gel test** and it failed.

Luckily, the day was saved because I randomly bought some pectin when I went to the grocery store. I checked the box, and really just poured in the package. My jam started gelling beautifully. Score one for me planning ahead for a change.

We then just poured it into some sterile jars and stuck it in the fridge. I didn’t bother with processing it since I knew we’d be eating it really quickly. I was right – I had 2 big jars, now there is one jar left. But holy cow is it good! It’s really tart and lemony, like a strawberry lemonade. I’ve been putting it on everything. I even made some drop biscuits and mixed some of the jam into the batter before cooking – the petits went crazy for it and ate 3 biscuits each! I feel like there’s some more jam making in my future. I want to try something with peaches and berries, I think that combo could be really tasty.

*Chanti is my husband’s pet name for me, I’ve taken to using it when I talk about myself to myself. No, I’m not crazy.
** you know, where you stick a plate in the freezer then drop a spoonful of jam on it and stick it back in the freezer for a few minutes. if it stays in a mass, the jam is ready…at least that’s my interpretation of it.

4 Responses to “We be jammin’”

  1. deva June 7, 2011 at 09:45 #

    love the addition of lemon!

    • Chantal June 7, 2011 at 10:01 #

      It’s super lemony but really good.

  2. Elizabeth June 8, 2011 at 19:08 #

    The vanilla bean part sounds amazing. I can’t wait to make some jam now!

    • Chantal June 8, 2011 at 19:13 #

      I’d never made it before. I was inspired to try from reading all over Deva’s posts about jam on her blog (sabjimatablog.com). They all looked tasty. And then the food in jars blog post seemed easy. Now I want to make tons of jam…unfortunately I can’t since we’re moving soon.

Leave a Reply

