Pickles!

3 Jun

image

I finally attempted making pickles. I tried refridgerator pickles and used this recipe. It took me about an hour to do it all, and that’s with a phone call in the middle.

I, of course, did a couple changes. I just stuffed the cukes, onions, and bell peppers directly into 5 quart sized mason jars. Two I kept plain, in one I added 2 garlic cloves, in another I added 2 garlic cloves and a ton of black peppercorns, and in the fifth I added some pickling spice that my husband had bought.

Because I put the veggies into the jars first, I ended up having to add more brine. Rather than it being 3 cups vinega with 6 cups of sugar, I ran out of the latter and it was only 5 cups. Next time I will half the sugar, or use less than that.

I just tasted them – I was so excited I couldn’t wait for my husband to get home. They’re really good. Sweet, but good. Next time – way less sugar.

2 Responses to “Pickles!”

  1. deva June 3, 2011 at 02:36 #

    congrats! so satisfying, no?

Leave a Reply

