Chickpea Patties

29 May

A few years back on the Yeah that Vegan Shit blog, I saw a recipe for chickpea cutlets. I tried them and both my husband and I went crazy for them. I pretty much made them all the time for a long time until we got so sick of them that we couldn’t even look at chickpeas anymore. And eventually we forgot all about the tasty chickpea cutlets.

Then a few months ago, the lovely Miss Deva over at Sabjimata posted a recipe for chickpea sliders. (Both recipes are from the Veganomicon – which I got for Mother’s Day, lucky me!) Anyway, I remembered while reading her post how much I loved the chickpea cutlets and thought about making them, but in typical fashion I forgot all about it.

Finally, this week I made the chickpea cutlets. So good! I didn’t use all the recommended spices – I only used black pepper, dill, and a tiny bit of garlic. I also added a tablespoon or two of prepared mustard and some nutritional yeast. And instead of bread crumbs, I used chickpea flour instead.

I can’t express how much J, the babies and I loved these. I made it twice this week. I’d probably have made it a third time but we ran out of canned chickpeas.

I served it with cheezy vegetables and the babies gobble it up. Cheezy veggies is basically mushy veggies – I used broccoli, cauliflower and carrot. I add soy sauce, black pepper, a bit of garlic, some nutritional yeast and a handful of fake cheeze (usually diaya or teese). Mix it up and watch my kids go crazy. Sometimes instead of fake cheeze, I’ll mix in a coconut curry sauce or make a peanut sauce and they still go nuts for it – even picky Beatrice.

I’m sure you can guess what we’ll be having at least once this week for dinner.

2 Responses to “Chickpea Patties”

  1. Cyn May 30, 2011 at 00:12 #

    Oooh, you totally reminded me how delicious these are! I’m going to have to make a batch soon.

    • Chantal May 30, 2011 at 03:15 #

      I’d invite you over, because I’m probably making some tonight. In case you couldn’t tell, Jer and I get stuck on certain foods. I suppose chickpea cutlets are better than other things we could get stuck on.

Leave a Reply

