A recipe from my mom

18 May

image

Last fall after my mom got back home from visiting her sisters, she couldn’t stop raving about one of my aunt’s “Mexican Pie” recipe. She told me what was in it, and I figured it would be easy to make vegetarian, but I’m fairly lazy so I never bothered. Fast forward to last Christmas where my mom made a vegetarian version for us to taste. The babies loved it, as did J and I, so we make it fairly often – changing it a bit each time.

Basically, I have no idea why it is called a Mexican pie as there’s nothing really Mexican about it…but, here’s the vegetarian version of the recipe (I’ll post my changed at the end).

Ingredients:
Pie crust (like I said, I’m lazy so I use premade)
Fake meat crumbles
Jar of salsa
A 2 cup package of cheese

How to put it together:

– put a layer of parchment paper on a cookie sheet
-unroll a pie crust and lay it on the cookie sheet (on the parchment paper)
-brown the fake meat (or not, sometimes I just thaw it) and spread it out on the pie crust
-dump jar of salsa on top of fake meat
– empty bag of cheese onto salsa and fake meat
– cover with 2nd pie crust, crimp around the edges to seal and poke a few holes in the top
– bake at 350 for about 45-60 minutes

That’s literally it.

To change it up a bit, I make mine in a pie pan, it makes for a thicker but smaller pie. I’ve also added sautéd veggies to the pie so we can eat some extra veggies – onion, bell pepper, celery, broccoli, shredded carrot, cauliflower, all work well. I switched out the salsa for a queso dip that had salsa in it, but it was way too messy when I tried to cut the pie. I switched from salsa to a mild taco sauce, we like the taste better.

The picture is of my latest recipe change: mini pies! I used a silicone muffin pan and pilsbury grands biscuits – when I separated each biscuit, I then pulled them in half again. I molded the half biscuit into the muffin pan, then filled them with about a tablespoon of fake meat/celery/taco sauce mixture and then topped it with some cheese. I baked it at 350 for maybe 25-30 minutes. I’m pretty pleased with how these turned out. Now I’m dying to 1. have a party so I can make these as hors d’oeves(sp?) and 2. I want to figure out a way to make these vegan (switching to a fake cheese and vegan biscuits, maybe?). 

4 Responses to “A recipe from my mom”

  1. Cyn May 19, 2011 at 02:46 #

    Frequently store bought pie crusts are vegan! Read the ingredients on a couple, you may be able to find one that’s all vegetable shortening. (If you want to go back to one big pie)

    I’m not a big fan of vegan cheese in general, but if you can find Daiya or Teese those are both pretty good. I think Daiya is available at most Whole Foods.

    • Chantal May 19, 2011 at 02:53 #

      I didn’t know that store bought crusts could be vegan. I just assumed they all contained butter.

      You know, my local tiny town grocery just started carrying daiya! I was so excited – I’d only bought it (and Teese) from Cosmo’s in Atlanta. Yes, we would bring a cooler on our trips to Atlanta for vegan goodies from Cosmo’s. I’m wondering if a homemade cheese would work?

      The more we talk about it, the more likely we are to go vegan as a household. If we can find some sort of a vegan feta substitute, I’d be sold. 🙂

  2. Cyn May 30, 2011 at 00:18 #

    Here’s the recipe for my favorite feta sub:

    1 package firm tofu
    1 1/2 cups water
    1/2 cup light miso
    3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
    2 tablespoons salt

    Cut tofu into cubes. Put it in a saucepan & cover with water, bring to boil and simmer for 5 minutes. While it’s simmering, mix the rest of the ingredients (water – salt) into a brine. Add hot tofu to brine, and let sit at room temperature for 20 minutes. Cover and chill in the fridge for 2 days, then serve. It will last up to 2 weeks.

    It is salty and delicious and amazing in salads!

    • Chantal May 30, 2011 at 03:13 #

      I cannot wait to try this. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

