Sick Break

20 Apr

image

So, I failed at the 21 day vegan kickstart.

Mostly because I got an intestional virus that landed me in the hospital for 3 days. It was pretty bad. The worst part, I think, is that my doctor didn’t run any tests to figure out why I was so sick.

This all happened the afternoon of Lucien’s birthday. My husband wasn’t feeling well that day. A friend of ours was visiting from out of town and things were going well. Within an hour of the friend leaving, I started to feel worse and worse…until Jer made the descision that I should go to the ER around 9pm. He woke up the babies and they were surpringly calm considering that they were with me in the ER until 3am – which is when the doctor decided to keep me overnight (really, it was almost morning!).

The picture I posted is what the hospital decided was vegetarian food – toast, roasted potatoes, mashed potatoes, nasty greenbeans, and a peas cheese and mayo salad. I ate none of it. The food cart woman yelled at me because she went through the trouble of getting me a ‘special’ meal, an inedible meal was more like it. Jer brought me a veggie burger for dinner, but it made me sick.

Fast forward to today, and I’m feeling a lot better. The babies just seem happy that their dad took time off work. The dogs have not left my side since I’ve gotten home. I know who’s loyal…  🙂  anyway, I’m sort of getting back an appetite but not really, I’ve been eating saltines, fake ritz, jello…my husband made me some lemon pudding, but I’m convinced it tastes like plastic. And it didn’t set properly because he used soy milk.  Can you tell what a pain in the ass I normally am?

2 Responses to “Sick Break”

  1. deva @ cottageid.com April 22, 2011 at 07:06 #

    hospital??? oh no!

    there is rotavirus going around down here.

    hate soy milk blech.

    • Chantal April 22, 2011 at 08:00 #

      It was pretty bad. My husband had felt ill earlier in the day, I guess when it hit me, I got it worse.

      Soy milk in things is okay. I prefer almond or silk brand coconut milk – so tasty. I’m actually looking forward to eating something other than crackers…or actually just wanting something other than that.

Leave a Reply

