Happy Birthday!

17 Apr

image

image

image

Today is Lucien’s second birthday.

I thought I’d tell you a bit about him. From the second we saw his picture we thought he was the cutest little boy. We went back and forth about names for a really long time…my husband likes more traditional names, I don’t so you can imagine that this process took a while. For those of you keeping track, Lucien is named for my grandmother (she was Lucienne).

Before Lucien came home, we had a couple calls from our adoption agency telling us about him – that he had starting walking, or that he was in the hospital for malaria (twice!). You can’t imagine how scary that was for us.

When we flew over to get Beatrice & Lucien, I was so nervous, I literally threw up the whole time. Really. Nasty airplane food did not help…

From the second we met Lucien, we were in love.

His foster father told us that he was destructive and pushed the other kids. We were worried, but for nothing since he’s been nothing but a kind and sweet little boy. He’s gentle with our pets and comforts Bea when she has tantrums.

He loves music of any kind, but kis recent favorites are Bowie, Nico, Kristen Hersh, George Harrison and Amanda Palmer. I’d say he has good taste in music. I really like that we will stop and dance to any beat. In an effort to try to keep his love of music, I’m teaching myself the ukulele (I bought a book). Even if I’m just playing notes to a 4/4 beat he dances along.

What else…his first words were ‘light’ and ‘vent.’ He loves bath and tickle times. He has a very healthy appetite and loves his veggies (I hope that last part sticks, too!). 

And now, it’s time for presents…

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. Llyra April 18, 2011 at 00:07 #

    Happy Birthday, little cutie!!

    • Chantal April 22, 2011 at 08:03 #

      Thank you, Llyra. I’m hoping you meet him in person someday – really, *I* just want to see you and am using my children as an excuse.

  2. deva April 18, 2011 at 00:56 #

    Absolute cutie! Glad he is healthy and loved! Your cabinets are cute, btw.

    • Chantal April 22, 2011 at 08:02 #

      I’m laughing that you noticed the cabinets. They came with the house. Our realtor said to paint them white and change the hardware, but I’m not doing that. We just gave the kitchen a fresh coat of paint instead.

Leave a comment