Vegan kickstart: day 9

13 Apr

image

I was back on track and feeling more like myself today. I’m still coughing, a lot, but I didn’t feel like just sleeping all day. Good thing, too since my husband had to work all day.

Anyway, breakfast was good old veggie packed tofu scramble. Lunch was a pb & j, fruit and a slush treat – well, the slush was for the babies. Bea has some teeth coming in so I took them to Sonic for a small slush. I actually got an ocean water. For dinner, we made some tacos with lots of lettuce and guacamole and fake meat and salsa (that was actually a bit too spicy). It was pretty good.

I’m so happy I’m feeling better. I was able to get back to packing. I realized tonight that I have no less than 4 gallon size freezer bags full of vintage buttons. Obsessed much? I have so many because I kept buying individual ones for projects and finally decided to bid on a big lot on ebay. I won 3 pounds of buttons. A few months later, my mom while visiting, pulled a giant 5 gallon jar out of her suitcase that was full of buttons. They were my grandmothers. Then, a few months after that, I got a huge box in the mail from my mom, can you guess what was inside? That’s right, a ton of buttons she found at a tag sale. I literally never need to buy another button for the rest of my life.

The picture of Bea, I took tonight. I’m trying to style her hair a bit. You can’t really tell in the picture, but her hair is parted in the middle and there’s french braids on each side leading to two puffs. I think this is my favorite hair I’ve done on her so far. Also, this picture is so silly. She was jumping around on the back porch and being generally goofy.

4 Responses to “Vegan kickstart: day 9”

  1. Corey April 13, 2011 at 16:22 #

    I love the baby belly.. there is nothing quite so adorable.

    When your kids are bigger and it is safe to play with buttons, they will think you are the BEST! MOMMY! EVER! Buttons can keep kids occupied for hours.. sorting, stringing, all kinds of thing.

    • Chantal April 13, 2011 at 18:03 #

      Her belly (and his) are part of what makes them so cute, I agree with that.

      They’d like to play with my buttons now. Then again, they’d play with anything now. Maybe if they actually are into the buttons later, it can potentially safe us some money on toys? That is wishful thinking.

  2. deva April 13, 2011 at 21:46 #

    look at that toddler belly!!! love it!!!

    • Chantal April 13, 2011 at 21:49 #

      She’s actually sized up in tops because of that belly…if she didn’t have it, I think she’d still fit in 9-12 month clothing (she’s 20 months).

Leave a Reply

