Vegan kickstart: days 5-8

11 Apr

I got a bit sidetrack with posting my meals this weekend. My husband went to Kentucky overnight for a conference and I caught a pretty bad cold. My meals this weekend were literally oatmeal, oatmeal, and oatmeal – supplimented with hot tea, decaf coffee and nyquil. Side note: I actually really dislike oatmeal, but it was the only thing that made my throat feel better.

This is the first time I’ve gotten really sick since the babies have been home. It was so hard taking care of them alone and feeding them for 2 days. My levels of awe for single parents has gone up dramatically. How do you guys do it? At least we had leftovers and pb & j for them. I even loaded them into the car to get some tots for them and ocean water for me at Sonic in an attempt to not cook. I’m a terrible parent.

So, this is the first day where I’ve felt slightly better. My husband made some tofu scramble this morning and I was able to eat some without wanting to hurl. I can also somewhat breathe out of one nostril, so things are looking up. Of course when J goes back to work tomorrow I might feel differently.

I’m not sure what’s on tap for meals for later, I hope it isn’t oatmeal. My meal plan for the petits says vegetarian baked beans & hot dogs for them, I’m not sure if the veggie dogs are vegan I’ll have to check. I think for dinner J & I had talked about making veggie tacos, I don’t know if I’m quite up for that – although spicy might be good sinus-wise.

I should also mention that while the petits were sleeping this weekend and I couldn’t, I caught up on some movies I had dvr’d. I watched Adam Resurrected, starring Jeff Goldblum. I have mixed feeling about it. It was weird, but I liked it, but I wanted more, but I’d recommend it. I also finished Tell Me You Love Me. Junie Moon, a 70s Liza Minelli movie (also starring the White Shadow guy!). I need to be honest here, I love depressing, dire movies from the late 60s and early 70s. I also love 70s Liza. I loved this movie. It was depressing but there was something else in it, like a sense that even though things were dire that maybe there was hope. I don’t know. I also watched Scream 3 and The Craft, mostly because they were on and I was too lazy to change the channel. I will say though, I still like the Craft’s soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

