Almost wordless wednesday/vegan kickstart day 3

7 Apr

image

First an explaination of the picture – it’s my final project for a painting class I took in 2003. It’s amazing I have an art degree, right? I found it buried with other old art projects while we were packing. It made me remember how much I agonized while working on it. And I remember all the trips to and from campus with Jeremy taking that painting and my art supplies and books onto public transit – all that crap plus rush hour commuters made for bad times on public transit. This was back when we lived in Philadelphia. But I can laugh about it now.

Anyway…

Day 3 of the vegan kickstart. There was some oatmeal, into which I threw some craisins. There was also some oven roasted potatoes and veggie dogs and a salad. And there might have also been more lentils with added veggies, because for some reason lately I throw broccoli on everything.

Also, I mentioned to a friend of mine that I was doing this and he’s starting tomorrow. It would be more fun if we lived closer and could do it together (he’s in CT), but we liked the idea of reporting to each other what we ate for the day – unless one of us falls off the wagon and then has to avoid the other.

4 Responses to “Almost wordless wednesday/vegan kickstart day 3”

  1. Christina Almond April 7, 2011 at 10:44 #

    GL Chantal!! I started a 100% vegan diet on January 1st of this year and have lost 23 pounds so far! The weight sometimes falls off slowly (though if I exercised more it would probably go faster) but it seems to work! 🙂

    • Chantal April 7, 2011 at 10:48 #

      Thanks! I need the encouragement. I didn’t realize how much I relied on cheese or eggs for quick meals. I’ve been vegetarian for just under 10 years, so I’m hoping the transition to vegan is as easy for me as giving up meat was – and I don’t want to have to avoid my friend’s phone calls. 🙂

  2. deva April 7, 2011 at 16:34 #

    that’s great that you have a buddy to do this with! love the painting. very folksy.

    • Chantal April 7, 2011 at 19:22 #

      Well, this is the same buddy who for years claimed to be vegan – and even got the school where he teaches to offer more vegan and organic choices – who admitted to me that he would eat fried chicken and bbq ribs on the sly. The admission came a few years ago, I still bring it up, because I’m a good friend that way – hence one of us avoiding check in phone calls from the other.

      Also, thank you. When I look at the painting, I just remember agonizing while painting it and the awful commutes to school with Jeremy – that canvas, a bunch of art supplies and my books on public transit during rush hours always made for people yelling at me. I can laugh now, but at the time, I didn’t. It was when we lived in Philadephia and decided to go carless for a few years. The babies like the painting, they keep pointing and screaming “dog!”

Leave a Reply

