21 day vegan kickstart: day 2

6 Apr

I’ll just start out by saying that yesterday was a lot easier than today. Mostly because I was home and today we were out most of the day – we had painters come in to paint the living room, my craft room, the hallway, the kitchen and to stain the deck. We had the impression that they were going to do it over the course of a few days…we were wrong.

We packed up the babies in my car and the dogs in J’s car and headed towards Nashville…we dropped the dogs at the kennel on the way. We had planned on taking the petits to the science center in Nashville, but a friend of ours with a 2 year old invited us over – thank goodness! On our way there we stopped and got some coffee and bagels, as only the petits had breakfast.

I’m going to say right here that the babies and our friend’s daughter had a blast! They kept hugging each other, which was super cute. I wasn’t fast enough to get a picture.  Anyway, the petits ate there – grilled cheese. J and I got take out veggie burgers on the way home.

Dinner was sloppy joe style lentils for everyone. Here’s the recipe, it’s super duper easy. I’m giving you what I do, not what’s in the cookbook – it’s from the vegetarian slow cooker cookbook, which I love. Anyway…

Ingredients:
– 1 onion chopped up
– 1 pepper chopped up (bell, I use green)
– 1 teaspn olive oil
– 1.5 cup brown lentils (I use the whole bag from the grocery store, it might be a bit more or less)
– 3 cups water
– can of tomato paste, the larger size
– 2 small cans of no salt tomato sauce
– 1 tablespn brown sugar (sometimes I use pure maple syrup instead)
– 1 tablespn soy or tamari sauce
– 1 tablespn prepared mustard
– 1 teaspn salt
– 1 teaspn dill (I use the dried kind)
– garlic (I’m a heavy garlic-er)
– black pepper (again, I’m a heavy pepper-er)

Directions:

In a pan saute the onion and pepper together in the olive oil until soft.

Meanwhile, rinse the lentils and pick through them, then throw them in the crockpot with all the other ingredients. Mix it up.

When the onions & peppers are soft, throw them in the crockpot.

Cook on low for 8 hours. I check on it and sometimes add more water or stir it or just fiddle with it.

Side note:

In the original recipe, it said to mix a tablespoon of chili powder in with the onions and peppers. And instead of tomato paste and tomato sauce, it asked for a large can of crushed tomato. I do the paste & sauce because I really hate tomatoes and any sign of them, like parts or seeds, grosses me out. Yes, it’s weird. I know.

2 Responses to “21 day vegan kickstart: day 2”

  1. Laurie April 6, 2011 at 20:03 #

    Hello : ) I just read your comment on my blog, Days with Dylan – thank you for that. I came over here to check out your blog and was pleasantly surprised to see your “Vegan Kickstart” posts! I am doing the same exact thing and love it!!

    Good luck to you – I will continue to follow along on your blog to see your progress : )

    Take good care,
    Laurie

    • Chantal April 6, 2011 at 20:13 #

      The vegan kickstart has been not so hard, but it’s only day 3…I suspect it will get harder when I cannot rely on eggs as a default meal.

      Your blog is great. My children are adopted and when we first picked them up in Congo, we met some medical missionaries who happened to be staying at the same place we were, and they checked out the babies for us. The child development expert was convinced that our son had Down syndrome and suggested we test him as soon as we got home. It was a weird situation to be in, to say the least. When we asked our pediatrician to test him, she thought we were crazy but did it and he was negative. Now we have all this knowledge…anyway, the day care people you mentioned are missing out.

Leave a Reply

