Friday recipe

19 Mar

image

Confession time:

I watch a lot of Food Network & Cooking Channel. I own a ton of cookbooks. I don’t particulary like cooking. Or rather, I don’t like cooking just for me. This means if I like something and my husband does not, I will mostly likely not bother making it – the only exceptions to this are cauliflower & asparagus. I should also point out that he loves tomato in all forms, but has pretty much stopped eating them because I think they are the devil.

Anyway, recently on food network, I saw a recipe for a veggie burger that looked really quick and simple, and – bonus – I thought the babies might like it. It came out pretty good – and the babies loved it! I changed up the recipe from what they made, so here’s the recipe:
Ingredients:
1 can refried beans (I used the vegetarian kind)
1/4 cup chickpea/garbanzo bean flour
1/2 onion chopped up fine
Spices (I used black pepper, garlic, dill, and a bit of sea salt. The original recipe asked for salt, a lot of ginger and garam masala)

Mix all the ingredients together.
Heat up some oil in a pan.
Form the mix into patties and fry them up in the pan until golden brown and crispy on each side.
I drained them on paper towels.

The babies went insane for it.

I’m going to try baking it as little meatballs to see if that would work, to cut down on the oil.

The picture is of Lucien, letting you know he’s happy to be going out to mail the taxes.

2 Responses to “Friday recipe”

  1. deva March 20, 2011 at 01:53 #

    your babies are such good eaters! and they look so delicious themselves!

    • Chantal March 20, 2011 at 05:49 #

      Lucien is a great eater – he’s eaten every single thing I’ve put in front of him. Beatrice, well, she’s way more picky. But, I can’t complain because she’s gotten a lot better about not tasting things.

Leave a Reply

