I’ll be your lady marmalade

8 Mar

image

So, I made some marmalade. It’s blood orange, grapefruit, vanilla and coconut. I used the recipe on the Design Sponge blog as a guide.

That’s it simmering away in the pot. My hands and my house small like a creamsicle. Yummy. 

This was my second attempt at making marmalade. The first time I made vanilla & meyer lemon – it was super tasty. It came out better than this one. Maybe I should’ve added pectin. It isn’t gelled quite right, but that’s okay. It should keep in the fridge for a bit and will be added to the babies’ oatmeals every morning.

I should also add that I had Lucien taste it and he loved it. Hopefully he will still love it in his oatmeal for the next few weeks.

2 Responses to “I’ll be your lady marmalade”

  1. deva March 11, 2011 at 11:06 #

    Could be overcooked? Could be undercooked? Lol. Who knows! I am sure it is delicious. My friend just had a baby and named him Lucien. Let the light shine!

    • Chantal March 11, 2011 at 11:37 #

      I have no idea if it’s over or undercooked, but it does taste good. It’s fairly tart, but for some reason the babies love it. So, it’s getting mixed into oatmeal & yogurt. It was only my second time making marmalade. The other time it gelled, but was so sweet it grossed me out – luckily my husband gobbled it all up in a day or so.

      Yay! Another Lucien! Mine is actually named after my grandmother, her name was Lucienne. We’d had another referal for a baby, before these two, that we planned on naming Lucienne. But it fell through. So when we got our referal for Lucien, I remembered the librarian character in Sandman had that name & and it was the masculine version of Lucienne. When we told one of my aunts, who’s a retired nurse that we were naiming him Lucien, she said she hated that name because all of her dirty old man patients were named Lucien. Ha. (Bea’s named after Bea Arthur). Not that you needed this long story.

Leave a Reply

