Sleepy time

5 Mar

image

As you can see in the picture, B and her poupeé were very tired when I snapped the pic. I love when she and L sleep in the car…of course I also love when they try to sing along to Bowie…

Anyway, there’s been a fair bit of excitement at my house this week. First, we’re on spring break next week. That makes me very happy. We’re not going anywhere – but we are planning on going to see the Vishnu & Hindu home shrines exhibit at the Frist. We’re also going to an alpaca show – that’s tomorrow! I’m excited. I love alpacas!

Second, it looks like we’ll be moving sometime this summer. Although I’ll miss magnolia trees – which are seriously so beautiful – I will not miss the insanely hot summers. Also, the thought of packing my house & selling it makes me want to vomit. I hate moving. I’ll write more about the move in another post.

Third, Miss B had her 18 month old doctor appointment today. She’s weighing in at 24.8 pounds, up about 10 since she came home 10 months ago. She’s a tiny peanut. I call her my swanky peanut, because she is. Our pediatrician told us that we should do our best to not break B’s independant spirit, which we’re trying not to do.

Fourth, I finished the quilt top this week. I’m planning on quilting it all together this week. I’m putting it together for a friend. She asked and I like her. She had embroidered 9 panels and wasn’t sure what to do with them. I was happy to help, although making the quilt ‘sandwich’ is my least favorite part of quilting. I told her she should come over and do that part.

2 Responses to “Sleepy time”

  1. sabjimata March 5, 2011 at 06:56 #

    Moving north? Your peanut is quite a grower! I like that she’s spunky.

    Hey, did you know that I am adopted, too?

    • Chantal March 5, 2011 at 07:30 #

      How did you guess? My husband got a job at a school in Scranton, PA. I’m not super excited about the location itself, but it’s 3.5 hours from our moms in CT, and 2 hours from both NYC & Philly. I like that. It will be really nice seeing family and friends on a regular basis.

      I have to admit, I’m also sad we’re moving because I’ll have to make all new contacts for grad school…I like the devotees near me, and they’ve been really open with my questions. That’s a more selfish reason though.

      Funny, I’m adopted too. I think, in some way, that might help the babies when they get older – that I’ll get what it’s like to be in a family where everyone looks the same but you. Or not…I don’t know.

      Yeah, Bea’s super shy but spunky is a good word to describe her too. While Lucien is pretty even tempered and gentle, she’s very vocal and independant. One think I like about being home with them is seeing their personalities emerge.

Leave a Reply

