10 (boring) things about me

21 Feb

I have a couple crafty projects I want to blog about, but I’ve got to take some pictures first – but I’m in the middle of writing a paper for class…so, in an effort to get a post up, I thought I’d post 10 things about myself. These things may or may not be new to you, and I can’t guarentee that they aren’t boring.

1. I’m thinking of submitting my paper on the Murari Sevaka farm to a journal. This both delights and scares the shit out of me.

2. I prefer the company of my dog Hartley to that of most people. I feel like if you know me in person, that is an obvious thing.

3. I’m concerned that the US media seems to be ignoring the protests in Gabon. Putting the wives of opposition leaders in jail and allegedly torturing them is insane. Like the twitter hashtag says #Alidegage.

4. I only use pens with either pink or orange ink, sometimes purple…usually there’s glitter involved.

5. I am currently working on 2 knitting projects – a cardigan for Bea and the Betiko shawl for me. This is unusual for me as I like to finish one knitting project before starting another or I feel like I’ll never finish them. But I figured the shawl would take me forever (I’m a slow knitter) and Bea’s cardigan is almost finished, so I thought it would be okay to have 2 on the needles at once.

6. I have a quilt top in my craft room that I started piecing for a friend – she embroidered 9 panels and asked me to make a quilt out of it for her. It’s coming out really cool so far.

7. I started handpiecing a hexagon quilt 3 years ago. It is nowhere near finished. I haven’t worked on it in a while, but I like how meditative it is to sew little hexagons together. I have full confidence that it will be beautiful.

8. I hate milk. It just tastes gross to me. If I wasn’t so into fancy cheeses then I’d make a great vegan. Seriously, we were in Berlin for my birthday a few years back – I think I only ate cheese plates (and currants and cherry juice) all day!

9. I’ll watch anything. Literally. If it’s on, I’ll watch it. I love Fellini and Kurasawa and Allison Anders movies, but also love lifetime and syfy movies.

10. I don’t normally watch sitcoms. I hate them. I love the Golden Girls & Norman Lear shows, but as far as sitcoms go those are the only ones I like.

2 Responses to “10 (boring) things about me”

  1. sabjimata February 22, 2011 at 00:40 #

    i also hate the taste of milk but am not vegan….now i need to troll your blog to figure out what you are going to school for..

    • Chantal February 22, 2011 at 02:01 #

      I was happy when our pediatrician suggested soy/rice/almond milk for the babies (she thought they might be lactose intolerant).

      My undergrad degree is in fine arts/american studies, which as you can imagine is really not impressive in terms of getting a job…ideally I’d like to be in either an American studies or religious studies grad program, but there aren’t really any good ones near me – and with the babies, I’d rather not travel. So, right now I’m taking an MA class on American religious history. I have a project idea for a history MA – I want to do a comparison on different ISKCON farms in the south. I’m completely fascinated that some like Alachua and New Talavan are thriving, but others like Murari Sevaka really aren’t. Also, as far as religious groups go, the devotees I met when I wrote a paper on the history of the Murari farm were so welcoming and didn’t mind all my questions, way better than other groups I’ve written papers on.

      That’s probably a longer answer than you were looking for. Oh, and I almost forgot – I made your cake again! Turns out, maybe it is a little fantastic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

