In love with my crockpot

19 Feb

I mentioned a few weeks back that I had purchased the  Indian Slow Cooker cookbook. So far, I have tried three recipes from it and loved all three!

I first tried the saag paneer. I was skeptical that this would even work because all the spinach was practically over-flowing from my crockpot. However, it soon cooked down, a lot. There was a recipe in the book for making homemade paneer (something I’ve always wanted to try), but I used baked and cubed tofu instead (I just cubed into inch pieces and baked plain on parchment paper until they were golden brown). This was so good! I dropped a bit too much curry in it, but my husband and the babies loved it – that makes this recipe a winner as far as I’m concerned.

Next up was the curried cauliflower and potatoes. I used mini purple potatoes instead of yellow for a bit of color, and less curry than called for, and I added a bit of shredded coconut at the end – otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out amazing! We also all loved it – this is a big deal because my husband claims to not like cauliflower…Anyway, for the babies, I also added a bit of the magical korma simmer sauce and they gobbled it up.

The third recipe I tried was kheer/rice pudding. This was amazing! I’ve never been able to make rice pudding on the stovetop, at all. The only things I changed were less cinnamon, and instead of raisins, I used a mix of dried apricots and cherries – the dried apricots ended up lossing their taste when it was all cooked, so next time I’ll only use the dried cherries. I also garnished with pistachos for mine and my husband’s, which was so so good.

I’m going to be putting in the ingredients to try a curried chickpea recipe tonight. I’ll update about it.

I’ve been caught up in working on my latest paper for class, so the cooking at my house has been super simple stuff of late. In case you’re nosy, like I would be – my paper is about the Fox sisters and Father Divine and how they became popular, what are some similarities or differences. It’s pretty interesting stuff. I’ve been finding a lot of similarities with Father Divine’s Peace Mission Movement and other new religious movements (like Jonestown, Sweet Daddy Grace, and ISKCON), but that’s a whole other post that probably no one but me is interested in. 

2 Responses to “In love with my crockpot”

  1. sabjimata February 21, 2011 at 20:11 #

    did you read the new yorker article on scientology? very interesting!

    • Chantal February 21, 2011 at 20:58 #

      No, I haven’t. I’ll have to check it out when I hit up the library this week. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

