What I’ve been obsessing about lately

25 Jan

image

I tend to get obsessed with things fairly easily, but of late I’ve been more singularly obssesive about a couple things. I thought I would share some of my recent obsessions with you. Spoiler alert: they aren’t that exciting.

– I’ve recently had an idea for a quilt in my head. I want it to use some of the Gabonese fabrics that J got me when he was in Gabon. I don’t want it to just be pieced blocks, which is how I made quilts in the past. I have an idea of using hexagons somehow, but not a full on hexagon quilt. For the record, I’m still working on the hexagon quilt I started 2 years ago – it’s takimg so long but my hexagons are about 1.25 inches and are all being pieced by hand. It looks so good, I should keep working on it some more.

– I’ve also recently felt the need to work my way through some of my craft/sewing books, making each project. First up is Cal Patch’s design it yourself patternmaking book. This will test my minimal sewing skills.

– The babies & I have been obsessing over cauliflower with coconut curry sauce. We had some in Nashville a while back and loved it, then when we were in MA visiting friends we went out to Indian and asked the waiter if they had something similar on the menu. They didn’t, but the chef offered to make us a dish of it special for Miss B – it was so yummy that we went back twice! Then when we got home, I was dying to recreate it, and I sort of figured it out. My recipe is saute your veggies (I use cauliflower, broccoli, carrot & potato) add tofu, if using, then add in a quarter cup of coconut milk (the kind from a can, not the kind from the Silk company) and finally, mix in a quarter cup of Seeds of Change brand korma simmer sauce (it’s super mild). The babies freak out every time I make it for them, so I’m making it a lot.

– This isn’t an obsession, but the picture above has nothing to do with this post, in case you were wondering. We took the babies outside to play while J raked. They had such a good time that they did not want to come back inside. 

2 Responses to “What I’ve been obsessing about lately”

  1. Corey January 26, 2011 at 20:35 #

    Hmm. I might have to try this. I make something similar (but spicy) with green beans that my kids love (http://www.thewednesdaychef.com/the_wednesday_chef/2010/05/julie-sahnis-bihari-green-beans-masala.html) and am always trying to convince myself to like cauliflower..

    • Chantal January 26, 2011 at 21:06 #

      I’m going to have to try a miler version of that recipe. The babies haven’t tried green beans yet. Lucien will eat anything, but Bea’s pickier and she loves the korma sauce. We’ve gotten to a point where if it have korma sauce, peanut butter or tomato sauce we know she’ll eat it, otherwise she probably won’t.

      Anyway, my husband’s the same way about cauliflower…he likes it like this or sometimes roasted. I like it most ways…

Leave a Reply

