Finally some knitting

15 Jan

image

Over the xmas holiday, we went to Connecticut to visit our families. While we were there I was finally able to visit the Webs store – that place really is like a grocery store for yarn. I didn’t venture into the back or side rooms because the babies were with us (my husband came, too and probably regretted it).

Anyway, whilst there I spotted a super cute child’s cardigan knit with some Noro. I thought it might be cute to knit for Miss B, so I took a closer look. When I saw that the style was ‘aya’ I had to knit it, Aya is the name of one of my best friends! I found the pattern booklet, it’s in the Noro Kids booklet, and made the saleslady go in the warehouse to find the last couple balls of Aya for me. I was pretty happy that the ones left were in shades of bright pink, bright green, and grey.

I made myself finish the moustache sweater I had already started for B before starting this one – pictures soon, once I find the cord that connects my camera to the computer. Anyway, I’m really liking this pattern and how it’s coming out. I wish I had more time to work on it.

One funny thing is that I emailed Aya to tell her about the Noro colorway, and she told me about Mr. Noro. Apparently he’s a really old man who takes walks with his dog every morning and night to observe the colors in nature and that’s where he gets his inspiration for his yarns. So cute! She also told me that in Japanese ‘aya’ means colorful, which fits with the yarn.

2 Responses to “Finally some knitting”

  1. watchingthewaters January 15, 2011 at 17:01 #

    Some one of these days I am going to take a knitting class. I can knit and purl, but I can’t increase or decrease or change colors. In other words, I’m good for a potholder, and that’s about it. I can crochet, but there’s something about the clickity clack of knitting needles that’s comforting.

    I did order some yarn off the internet for the first time ever to try a fancy dancy shawl for the first time ever. I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Chantal January 15, 2011 at 17:55 #

      To be honest with you, I never really like knitting until a couple years after i had started and i learned to knit socks – that’s when it clicked for me. I really only eanted to learn because knitting patterns, to me, were so much nicer than the ones for crochet.

      Aren’t you back in NH? You’re not that far from Webs…As much as I’d rather be in New England, it’s probably a good thing for my wallet that I don’t live near Webs.

      Also, you must be getting so excited for your mom’s retreat! i saw that you booked a Greek place for the big dinner, so awesome!

Leave a Reply

