Choco-mallow ice pops and a giveaway

10 Sep

The awesome peeps at the Chicago Soy Dairy sent me a couple of bags of their vegan marshmallow Dandies to try out. They are super tasty just straight out of the bag! I’ll admit, I ate a bunch like that…then decided to put them in something. I didn’t want to make rice krispies squares as I now tend to find them to be too sweet, so I made some choco-mallow ice pops instead.

I made up this recipe last night, and of course didn’t measure anything – but when I tasted these this morning, they were super good.

Here’s how I made them – cut up a banana and throw it in your food processor (this would work better in a blender but mine recently broke…), add about a 1/4cup of rice milk (or your fake milk/yogurt of choice), add a tablespoon of cocoa powder and blend together. Once it is smooth, add a handful of Dandies, I think I added about 10, blend again. It won’t be as smooth because the won’t get chopped up super fine, but they get chopped up enough. You could also add some sort of chopped nut at this point, to make it more rocky road-ish, which is what I had planned on doing until I realized we were out of nuts – after I blended it all together…after blending the marshmallows, taste the mixture. If you think it’s not sweet enough, add some agave or other sweetner. I added about a teaspoon of agave. Carefully pour this mixture into your freeze pop molds, making sure that each mold has some Dandies, and freeze.

Now for the giveaway – since I have 2 bags od Dandies, I thought I’d give one away to a lucky reader…

All you have to do is leave me a comment letting me know what you’d like to try and make with the Dandies and I’ll throw all the answers in a hat and have my husband randomly pick a winner on Tuesday night (9/13).

4 Responses to “Choco-mallow ice pops and a giveaway”

  1. Mel September 10, 2010 at 19:12 #

    Keep it simple, keep it real, I want some peanut butter and fluff sandwich!

    • Chantal September 10, 2010 at 19:58 #

      I should try that! I didn’t even think of it when I gave the babies pb sandwiches for lunch…but they did have some Dandies for dessert and went crazy for them.

  2. Cyn September 12, 2010 at 19:01 #

    Oooh, I totally want to make rice crispy treats with those.

  3. Christina Almond September 13, 2010 at 03:32 #

    I would love to make vegan S’mores!! YUMMY!! Thanks for the chance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

