Tofu lovers

1 Sep

In a fit of what to make the babies for dinner the other night, I made up a baked tofu recipe. We’d given the babies tofu before and once they liked it, another time Miss B drooled it out. This time they loved it. I neglected to take pictures, but it’s really simple since I just made an easy marinade out of what I found in my fridge.

Here are the directions:

Cut the tofu into slices or cubes, I use the extra firm tofu for this and usually do cubes if I’m making it for the babies. Put the cubes in a single layer in a pyrex container, or baking sheet or whatever you plan to use in your oven. Turn oven on to 350-400, your choice. Take out a bowl or measuring cup, I like measuring cup because you can pour it easier onto the tofu…anyway, here’s what was in my marinade the other night:
1 tbsp Bon Maman cherry preserves*
1 tsp soy sauce
2 tbsp pure maple syrup**
1 squirt of mustard (sounds gross, maybe, but maple and mustard is a tasty combo)
1 tsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste (this is hard for me because I tend to over-pepper everything, but can’t for the babies’ food)

Mix all the ingredients together and pour over the tofu, making sure all the pieces are coated. If that’s not enough marinade for all the tofu, I usually just add in more soy sauce or maple syrup, I tend not to measure when I cook things in general so my marinade measurements are just guesses.

You can either stick it all directly in the oven or stick it in the fridge for a bit to let the flavors mix well together – I usually just stick it in the oven.

Bake for 40-60 minutes until the tofu is nice and browned.

This will come out super sweet. I wasn’t super into it, but like I said, the babies LOVED it. I served it with couscous and my ‘cheaters’ peanut sauce (melt some peanut butter, mix it with tofu and couscous, that’s the cheater’s peanut sauce).

I will say, though, that I had some of the leftovers of this tofu this morning and it was much better tasting when it was cold than straight out of the oven. I think it would be good in a salad or sandwich.

*Ever since trying cherry jam when I was in Berlin a few years back, I’ve been obsessed with it and think it should go on literally everything. I love Bon Maman cherry preserves so much that I may have eaten it out of the container with a spoon once, or twice.

** It should be noted that I’m not a maple syrup purist, at all, but my mom brought down about a dozen containers of it when she last visited. Nothing beats pure maple syrup from Vermont…whenever I have some I get homesick for New England.

Leave a Reply

