It’s like I’m stuck on repeat!

20 Apr

So, I made another dress the other day. This one is a pillowcase dress that I made using the directions in Betz White’s Sewing Green book. My mom bought the book for me when I went for surgery in February. Anyway, I had never made a pillowcase dress before, but it was super easy. pillowcase dress I happen to have about 20-30 pillowcases thanks also to my mom. The last time she went to visit my aunts, they gave her a bunch for me. I wasn’t really quite sure what to do with them as they’re all white, like the one in the photo. I thought that a pillowcase dress would be kind of plain – but then, rather than embroidering on the dress, I came up with the idea of painting on a design. close up on elephant That’s a close-up on my paint job. I’m planning om making some more of these. I want to bring some with me when my husband and I go over to Africa to donate to a local orphanage. I’m hoping to make a fair amount more of these – I guess now I’ll need to try and figure out what to do for the decoration part.

2 Responses to “It’s like I’m stuck on repeat!”

  1. meg April 28, 2010 at 19:00 #

    ack! that is the cutest little elephant! he looks so vintage-y and awesome.

    • varouna April 29, 2010 at 18:19 #

      Thanks! If I’m remembering correctly, it’s from a vintage embroidery pattern that I found in the flickr group “hoop embroidery transfers.”

Leave a Reply

